# SCOTTISH STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

# 2006 No. 378

# LOCAL GOVERNMENT

The Argyll and Bute (Electoral Arrangements) Order 2006

Made	-	-	-	-		22nd June 2006
Coming	into	force	2	-	-	14th July 2006

The Scottish Ministers, in exercise of the powers conferred by section 17(2) of the Local Government (Scotland) Act 1973(1) and giving effect to proposals submitted to them on 24th January 2006 by the Boundary Commission under section 17(1) of that Act regarding electoral arrangements for the area of Argyll and Bute Council, hereby make the following Order:

#### Citation, commencement and application

**1.**—(1) This Order may be cited as the Argyll and Bute (Electoral Arrangements) Order 2006 and shall come into force on 14th July 2006.

(2) This Order shall apply only for the purposes of elections to be held after the date on which section 1 of the Local Governance (Scotland) Act 2004(2) comes into force.

### Interpretation

- 2. In this Order-
  - (a) a reference to an electoral ward is a reference to that electoral ward as constituted in this Order; and
  - (b) "the deposited data" means the data recorded on the DVD-ROM-
    - (i) entitled "Argyll and Bute (Electoral Arrangements) 2006"; and
    - (ii) deposited with the Scottish Ministers at their offices at Victoria Quay, Leith, Edinburgh EH6 6QQ.

## **Electoral arrangements**

**3.**—(1) The area of Argyll and Bute Council shall be divided into 11 electoral wards.

(2) The number and name of an electoral ward is as specified in columns 1 and 2 respectively of the Schedule to this Order.

<sup>(1) 1973</sup> c. 65. The functions of the Secretary of State transferred to the Scottish Ministers by virtue of section 53 of the Scotland Act 1998 (c. 46).

<sup>(</sup>**2**) 2004 asp 9.

(3) The number of councillors to be returned for an electoral ward is as specified in the entry in column 3 of the Schedule to this Order corresponding to that electoral ward.

(4) The boundaries of the electoral wards are as described by the deposited data.

St Andrew's House, Edinburgh 22nd June 2006

*TOM MCCABE* A member of the Scottish Executive

### SCHEDULE

Article 3

# ELECTORAL WARDS

Column 1 Number of electoral ward	Column 2 Name of electoral ward	Column 3 Number of councillors to be returned 3	
1	South Kintyre		
2	Kintyre and the Islands	3	
3	Mid Argyll	3	
4	Oban South and the Isles	4	
5	Oban North and Lorn	4	
6	Cowal	3	
7	Dunoon	3	
8	Isle of Bute	3	
9	Lomond North	3	
10	Helensburgh Central	4	
11	Helensburgh and Lomond South	3	

### **EXPLANATORY NOTE**

## (This note is not part of the Order)

This Order gives effect to proposals made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for Scotland for the future electoral arrangements for the area of Argyll and Bute Council. The area of Argyll and Bute Council is divided into 11 electoral wards as described in the Schedule to the Order. The proposals follow on the review of the whole of Scotland undertaken by the Commission in terms review under section 4(1) of the Local Governance (Scotland) Act 2004. The Order applies only for the purposes of elections held after the coming into force of section 1 of that Act.

The Order describes the boundaries of the new electoral wards by means of data stored on a DVD-ROM. Copies of the DVD-ROM are to be deposited with and maps of the boundaries of the electoral wards are available (in hard copy or on line) from the Local Government Boundary Commission for Scotland and Argyll and Bute Council.