#### STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

## 1989 No. 133

# LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND AND WALES

CHANGES IN LOCAL GOVERNMENT AREAS

The Cambridgeshire, Essex, Hertfordshire and Lincolnshire (County Boundaries) Order 1989

Made - - - - 31st January 1989

Laid before Parliament 8th February 1989

Coming into force
for the purposes referred to
in article 1(2) 1st March 1989

for all other purposes 1st April 1989

The Secretary of State for the Environment, in exercise of his powers under sections 51(2) and 67(4) of the Local Government Act 1972(1) and of all other powers enabling him in that behalf, hereby makes the following Order which gives effect to proposals submitted to him under sections 47, 48(1) and 51(1) of that Act, more than six weeks before the making of this Order, by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England:

#### Citation and commencement

- **1.**—(1) This Order may be cited as the Cambridgeshire, Essex, Hertfordshire and Lincolnshire (County Boundaries) Order 1989.
- (2) This Order shall come into force on 1st March 1989 for any purpose set out in regulation 4(1) (coming into operation of order) of the Local Government Area Changes Regulations 1976(2).
  - (3) For all other purposes this Order shall come into force on 1st April 1989.

### Interpretation

**2.** In this Order "boundary map" means one of the 5 maps prepared by the Department of the Environment, marked "Maps of the Cambridgeshire, Essex, Hertfordshire and Lincolnshire (County Boundaries) Order 1989", duly numbered for reference, and deposited in accordance with regulation 5 of the Local Government Area Changes Regulations 1976.

<sup>(1) 1972</sup> c. 70

<sup>(2)</sup> S.I. 1976/246, amended by S.I. 1978/247.

#### Transfer from Essex to Cambridgeshire

- **3.** The part of the county of Essex, the district of Uttlesford and the parish of Ashdon marked A10 on boundary map 5 shall be transferred to—
  - (a) the county of Cambridgeshire and the Linton electoral division of that county;
  - (b) the district of South Cambridgeshire and the Castle Camps ward of that district;
  - (c) the parish of Bartlow;
  - (d) the Cambridgeshire petty sessional division;
  - (e) the Southern Cambridgeshire Coroner's district.

## Transfers from Cambridgeshire to Hertfordshire

- **4.**—(1) The part of the county of Cambridgeshire, the district of South Cambridge-shire and the parishes of Bassingbourn cum Kneesworth and Melbourn marked A7 and A8 on boundary map 4 shall be transferred to—
  - (a) the county of Hertfordshire and the Royston electoral division of that county;
  - (b) the district of North Hertfordshire and the Royston West ward of that district;
  - (c) the parish of Royston and the Royston West ward of that parish;
  - (d) the North Hertfordshire petty sessional division;
  - (e) the Hitchin Coroner's district.
- (2) The part of the county of Cambridgeshire, the district of South Cambridgeshire and the parish of Litlington marked A6 on boundary map 4 shall be transferred to—
  - (a) the county of Hertfordshire and the North Herts Rural electoral division of that county;
  - (b) the district of North Hertfordshire and the Sandon ward of that district:
  - (c) the parish of Therfield;
  - (d) the North Hertfordshire petty sessional division;
  - (e) the Hitchin Coroner's district.
- (3) The part of the county of Cambridgeshire, the district of South Cambridgeshire and the parish of Melbourn marked A9 on boundary map 4 shall be transferred to—
  - (a) the county of Hertfordshire and the Royston electoral division of that county;
  - (b) the district of North Hertfordshire and the Royston East ward of that district;
  - (c) the parish of Royston and the Royston East ward of that parish;
  - (d) the North Hertfordshire petty sessional division;
  - (e) the Hitchin Coroner's district.

### Transfers from Cambridgeshire to Lincolnshire

- **5.**—(1) The part of the county of Cambridgeshire, the City of Peterborough and the parish of Thorney marked A4 on boundary map 2 shall be transferred to—
  - (a) the county of Lincolnshire and the Crowland Rural electoral division of that county;
  - (b) the district of South Holland and the Crowland ward of that district;
  - (c) the parish of Crowland;
  - (d) the West Elloe petty sessional division;
  - (e) the Boston and Spalding Coroner's district.

- (2) The part of the county of Cambridgeshire, the district of Fenland and the parish of Tydd St Giles marked A5 on boundary map 3 shall be transferred to—
  - (a) the county of Lincolnshire and the Holbeach Fen electoral division of that county;
  - (b) the district of South Holland and the Sutton Bridge ward of that district;
  - (c) the parish of Tydd St Mary;
  - (d) the East Elloe petty sessional division;
  - (e) the Boston and Spalding Coroner's district.
- (3) The parts of the county of Cambridgeshire, the City of Peterborough and the parish of St Martin's Without marked A1 and A2 on boundary map 1 shall be transferred to—
  - (a) the county of Lincolnshire and the Stamford South electoral division of that county;
  - (b) the district of South Kesteven and the St Marys ward of that district;
  - (c) the parish of Stamford;
  - (d) the Stamford petty sessional division;
  - (e) the Stamford Coroner's district.

## Parishes in the county of Cambridgeshire

**6.** The part of the parish of St Martin's Without in the City of Peterborough marked A3 on boundary map 1 shall be transferred to the parish of Barnack.

### Town and country planning

7. Any provisions of a structure plan, an old development plan (within the meaning of paragraph 2 of Schedule 7 to the Town and Country Planning Act 1971(3)) or a local plan made or adopted by a county or district council which apply immediately before 1st April 1989 to an area transferred by this Order shall continue to have effect in relation to that area as if they were part of such a plan made or adopted by the council of the county or district to which that area is transferred.

## **Land Registration**

**8.** Registration of title to land under the Land Registration Acts 1925 to 1986(**4**) shall cease to be compulsory on sale in the area transferred by article 5 save insofar as section 154(1) of the Housing Act 1985(**5**) applies to any dwelling house situated in that area.

Signed by authority of the Secretary of State

Virginia Bottomley
Parliamentary Under Secretary of State,
Department of the Environment

31st January 1989

<sup>(</sup>**3**) 1971 c. 78

<sup>(4) 1925</sup> c. 21; 1936 c. 26; 1966 c. 39; 1971 c. 54; 1986 c. 26.

<sup>(5) 1985</sup> c. 68.

#### **EXPLANATORY NOTE**

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order transfers areas between the counties of Cambridgeshire, Essex, Hertfordshire and Lincolnshire.

Consequential changes to districts, parishes and local government electoral areas are made.

The map forming part of this note (page 4) gives a general guide to the areas affected. Prints of the detailed boundary maps (described in article 2) may be inspected at all reasonable times at the offices of the district councils whose areas are affected by the Order, and at the office of the Secretary of State for the Environment, 2 Marsham Street, London SW1P 3EB.

The areas transferred have approximately the areas, populations and rateable values shown below

	Area (hectares)	Population	Rateable Value
Essex to Cambridgeshire	28	7	£424
Cambridgeshire to Hertfordshire	127	670	£230,961
Cambridgeshire to Lincolnshire	50	170	£71,189

The Local Government Area Changes Regulations 1976 (S.I.1976/246, amended by S.I. 1978/247) contain general provisions regarding the effect of orders such as this one.

