EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order gives effect, with modifications, to recommendations by the Local Government Commission for England for electoral changes in the county of Northumberland. The changes have effect in relation to local government elections to be held on and after 3rd May 2001.

The modifications relate to names of divisions and wards. The Secretary of State has decided that the divisions and wards shown in the first column of the Table below with the names proposed by the Commission should be named in accordance with the second column.

Proposed Division Name	Division Name
Norham and Islandshire	Norham and Islandshires
Ponteland South	Ponteland South with Heddon
Seghill	Seghill with Seaton Delaval
Warkworth	Amble West with Warkworth
Proposed Parish Ward Name	Ward Name
Morpeth East	East
Morpeth Old Town	Old Town
Morpeth Station	Station

Article 2 abolishes the existing divisions of the county and provides for the creation of 67 new divisions. That article and Schedule 1 also make provision for the names and areas of the new divisions. One councillor is to be elected for each division.

Articles 3 and 4 make electoral changes in the parishes of Hexham and Morpeth. The changes have effect in relation to local government elections to be held on or after 1st May 2003.

Article 5 revokes the County of Northumberland (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1980, article 3 of the District of Tynedale (Electoral Changes) Order 1998 and article 2 of the Borough of Castle Morpeth (Electoral Changes) Order 1998.

The areas of the new divisions are demarcated on the map described in article 1(4). Prints of the map may be inspected at all reasonable times at the offices of Northumberland County Council and at the offices of the Secretary of State for the Environment, Transport and the Regions, 2nd Floor, Ashdown House, 123 Victoria Street, London SW1E 6DE.