STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2020 No. 1353

The Immigration (Leave to Enter and Remain) (Amendment) (EU Exit) Order 2020

Amendment of the Immigration (Leave to Enter and Remain) Order 2000

- 2.—(1) The Immigration (Leave to Enter and Remain) Order 2000(1) is amended as follows.
- (2) In article 1 (citation, commencement and interpretation), in paragraph (3), after the definition of "responsible third party", insert—
 - ""Service Provider from Switzerland visa" means an entry clearance granted for the purpose of entry to the United Kingdom under the appendix to the immigration rules entitled "Appendix Service Providers from Switzerland"(2)
- (3) In article 4 (extent to which Entry Clearance is to be Leave to Enter), after paragraph (2D), insert—
 - "(2E) A Service Provider from Switzerland visa shall have effect as leave to enter the United Kingdom on an unlimited number of occasions during its period of validity, in accordance with paragraph (2F).
 - (2F) On arrival in the United Kingdom on each occasion, the holder shall be treated for the purposes of the Immigration Acts as having been granted, before arrival, leave to enter the United Kingdom for a limited period beginning on the date of arrival, being:
 - (a) 90 days if 90 days or more remain of the entry clearance's period of validity; or
 - (b) the entry clearance's remaining period of validity, if less than 90 days.".
 - (4) In article 8 (oral grant or refusal of leave), in paragraph (2)—
 - (a) in sub-paragraph (b), at the end, omit "or";
 - (b) in sub-paragraph (c), at the end, insert—
 - ", 01
 - (d) an S2 Healthcare Visitor(3) for a period not exceeding six months,".
 - (5) In article 8B (further provision as to automatic grant of leave)—
 - (a) after paragraph (1), insert—
 - "(1A) The Schedule to this Order has effect.";
 - (b) in paragraph (2)—
 - (i) in sub-paragraph (a), for the words "Australia" to "America" insert "a country listed in the Schedule";
 - (ii) in sub-paragraph (b), for "sub-paragraph (a)" substitute "the Schedule";

⁽¹⁾ S.I. 2000/1161; relevant amending instruments are S.I. 2010/957, 2013/1749, 2015/434, 2016/1132 and 2019/298.

⁽²⁾ The United Kingdom immigration rules were laid before Parliament on 23rd May 1994 (HC 395) and have been subsequently amended. The only relevant amendment was made by the Statement of Changes in Immigration Rules laid before Parliament on 22 October 2020 (HC 813), which added Appendix Service Providers from Switzerland.

⁽³⁾ Appendix S2 Healthcare Visitor was added by the Statement of Changes in Immigration Rules laid before Parliament on 22 October 2020 (HC813).

- (iii) in sub-paragraph (d), at the end, insert "or as an S2 Healthcare Visitor under Appendix S2 Healthcare Visitor of the immigration rules.";
- (c) after paragraph (2), insert—
 - "(2A) This article also applies to a person who—
 - (a) is a national of Ireland;
 - (b) is travelling on a passport issued by Ireland;
 - (c) is aged 12 or above; and
 - (d) is seeking to enter the United Kingdom as an S2 Healthcare Visitor under Appendix S2 Healthcare Visitor of the immigration rules.".
- (6) After article 8B, insert—

"Leave to be regarded as having been given before arrival

- **8C.** Leave to enter that is obtained by a person passing through an automated gate in accordance with article 8A or 8B shall be regarded, for the purposes of the Act, as having been given before that person's arrival in the UK."
- (7) In article 13 (leave which does not lapse on travel outside common travel area), in sub-paragraph (2)(a), after "visa" insert "or Service Provider from Switzerland visa".
 - (8) At the end, insert—

"SCHEDULE

Article 8B(1A)

Countries the nationals of which may obtain leave by passing through an automated gate

Australia

Austria

Belgium

Bulgaria

Canada

Croatia

Cyprus

Czech Republic

Denmark

Estonia

Finland

France

Germany

Greece

Hungary

Iceland

Italy

Japan

Latvia

Liechtenstein

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

T 1.1	
Lithü	ıania

Luxembourg

Malta

Netherlands

New Zealand

Norway

Poland

Portugal

Romania

Singapore

Slovakia

Slovenia

South Korea

Spain

Sweden

Switzerland

United States of America.".