

Local Government Boundaries Act (Northern Ireland) 1971 (repealed)

1971 CHAPTER 9

1 Local government districts and wards.

- (1) Northern Ireland shall for the purposes of local government be divided into twenty-six districts to be known as local government districts and shall be so divided that each local government district incorporates the whole or the major part of one of the places specified in Schedule 1.
- (2) Each local government district shall be divided into district electoral divisions to be known as wards.
- (3) The boundaries and names of the local government districts and the number, boundaries and names of the wards into which each of those districts is divided shall be such as are prescribed by an order made under section 4(5).
- (4) Commencement
- F1 Act repealed (prosp.) by The Local Government (Boundaries) (Northern Ireland) Order 2006 (S.I. 2006/1253 (N.I. 8)), arts. 1(4), 5, Sch. 2
- F1 Act repealed (prosp.) by Local Government (Boundaries) Act (Northern Ireland) 2008 (c. 7), ss. 3(2), 5(3), Sch.

Status:

Point in time view as at 01/01/2006. This version of this provision has been superseded.

Changes to legislation:

There are currently no known outstanding effects for the Local Government Boundaries Act (Northern Ireland) 1971 (repealed), Section 1.