## SCHEDULE 3 The Scottish Court Service

## Membership

- 2 (1) The SCS consists of judicial members and non-judicial members.
  - (2) The judicial members comprise—
    - (a) the Lord President,
    - (b) the Lord Justice Clerk,
    - (c) one other person holding the office of judge of the Court of Session,
    - (d) one person holding the office of sheriff principal,
    - (e) two persons holding the office of sheriff, and
    - (f) one person holding the office of justice of the peace.
  - (3) The non-judicial members comprise—
    - (a) an advocate practising as such in Scotland,
    - (b) a solicitor practising as such in Scotland,
    - (c) the Chief Executive (appointed under paragraph 14(1)), and
    - (d) three other individuals none of whom is qualified for appointment as a judicial member or for appointment under any of the preceding paragraphs.
  - (4) Each of the descriptions of members mentioned in sub-paragraphs (2) and (3) is referred to in this schedule as a "category of membership".
  - (5) Subject to sub-paragraph (6), the Scottish Ministers may, with the consent of the Lord President, by order modify sub-paragraph (2) or (3).
  - (6) The Scottish Ministers must not make an order under sub-paragraph (5) if its effect would be that the total number of judicial members would no longer exceed the total number of non-judicial members.