EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order makes changes to electoral arrangements for the district of South Ribble, which is a non-metropolitan district with borough status, following recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England. The area of the district remains unchanged. The electoral changes apply in respect of local government elections to be held on and after the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2015.

Article 3 abolishes the existing wards of the district of South Ribble and replaces them with 23 new ones. That article, the map (as defined in article 2) and Schedule 1 also establish the names, areas and number of councillors of the new district wards.

Articles 4 to 7 abolish the existing wards of the parishes of (i) Farington, (ii) Hutton, (iii) Longton and (iv) Penwortham and replace them with new ones. Those articles, the map and Schedule 2 also establish the names, areas and number of councillors of the new parish wards.

The map defined in article 2 shows the new district and parish wards. It is available at [insert link]. The map is also available for inspection at all reasonable times at the offices of South Ribble Borough Council, Civic Centre, West Paddock, Leyland, Lancashire PR25 1DH and at the offices of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England at Layden House, 76 – 86 Turnmill Street, London EC1M 5LG.

An impact assessment has not been produced for this instrument as no impact on the private or voluntary sectors is foreseen.