Draft Order laid before Parliament under section 59(9) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009; draft to lie for forty days pursuant to section 6(1) of the Statutory Instruments Act 1946, during which period either House of Parliament may resolve that the Order be not made.

DRAFT STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2016 No.

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND

The East Sussex (Electoral Changes) Order 2016

Made - - - - Coming into force in accordance with article 1(2) and (3)

Under section 58(4) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009(1) ("the Act"), the Local Government Boundary Commission for England(2) ("the Commission") published a report dated September 2016 stating its recommendations for changes to the electoral arrangements for the county of East Sussex. The Commission has decided to give effect to the recommendations.

A draft of the instrument has been laid before each House of Parliament, a period of forty days has expired since the day on which it was laid and neither House has resolved that the instrument be not made.

The Commission makes the following Order in exercise of the power conferred by section 59(1) and (2) of the Act.

Citation and commencement

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the East Sussex (Electoral Changes) Order 2016.
- (2) This article and article 2 come into force on the day after the day on which this Order is made.
- (3) Article 3 and the Schedule come into force—
 - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary, or relating, to the election of councillors, on the day after the day on which the Order is made;
 - (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors in England and Wales(3) in 2017.

^{(1) 2009} c.20.

⁽²⁾ The Local Government Boundary Commission for England was established on 1st April 2010 by section 55(1) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009 (c.20).

⁽³⁾ The ordinary day of election of councillors is prescribed by section 37(1) of the Representation of the People Act 1983 (c.2).

Interpretation

- **2.**—(1) In this Order "the map" means the map marked "Map referred to in the East Sussex (Electoral Changes) Order 2016", held by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England(4).
- (2) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it is to be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

Divisions of the county of East Sussex and number of councillors

- **3.**—(1) The existing divisions of the county of East Sussex are abolished.
- (2) The county of East Sussex is divided into 50 divisions as listed in the first column of the table in the Schedule.
- (3) Each division comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the division.
- (4) The number of councillors to be elected for each division is the number specified in relation to that division in the second column of the table in the Schedule.

Sealed with the seal of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England

Name
Chief Executive
Local Government Boundary Commission for
England

Date

⁽⁴⁾ Prints of the map are available for inspection at reasonable times at the principal office of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England, 14th floor, Millbank Tower, London SW1P 4QP. It is also accessible online at https://www.lgbce.org.uk/_data/assets/pdf_file/0005/27923/East_Sussex_SO.pdf.

Names of county electoral divisions and number of councillors

SCHEDULE Article 3

(1) (2) County division Number of councillors Arlington, East Hoathly & Hellingly Ashdown & Conquest 1 Baird & Ore 1 Battle & Crowhurst **Bexhill East** Bexhill North **Bexhill South** Bexhill West Braybrooke & Castle Brede Valley & Marsham Central St Leonards & Gensing Chailey Crowborough North & Jarvis Brook Crowborough South & St Johns Devonshire Forest Row & Groombridge Hailsham Market Hailsham New Town Hampden Park Heathfield & Mayfield Hollington & Wishing Tree Languey Lewes Maresfield & Buxted Maze Hill & West St Leonards Meads Newhaven & Bishopstone Northern Rother Old Hastings & Tressell 1 Old Town 1

(1)	(2)
County division	Number of councillors
Ouse Valley West & Downs	1
Peacehaven	1
Pevensey & Stone Cross	1
Polegate & Watermill	1
Ratton	1
Ringmer & Lewes Bridge	1
Rother North West	1
Rye & Eastern Rother	1
Seaford North	1
Seaford South	1
Sovereign	1
St Helens & Silverhill	1
St. Anthony's	1
Telscombe	1
Uckfield North	1
Uckfield South with Framfield	1
Upperton	1
Wealden East	1
Wealden North East	1
Willingdon & South Downs	1

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order makes changes to electoral arrangements for the county of East Sussex following recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England. The area of the county remains unchanged. The electoral changes in article 3 apply in respect of local government elections to be held on and after the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2017.

Article 3 abolishes the existing electoral divisions of the county of East Sussex and replaces them with 50 new ones. That article together with the map (as defined in article 2) also establish the names of the new electoral divisions and the areas and number of councillors for each.

Document Generated: 2024-01-11

Draft Legislation: This is a draft item of legislation. This draft has since been made as a UK Statutory Instrument: The East Sussex (Electoral Changes) Order 2016 No. 1225

The map shows the area of the new county electoral divisions and is available athttps://www.lgbce.org.uk/current-reviews/south-east/east-sussex/east-sussex-county-council It is also available for inspection at reasonable times at the offices of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England, 14th floor, Millbank Tower, London SW1P 4QP.

An impact assessment has not been produced for this instrument as no impact on the private or voluntary sectors is foreseen.