Draft Order laid before Parliament under section 59(9) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009; draft to lie for forty days pursuant to section 6(1) of the Statutory Instruments Act 1946, during which period either House of Parliament may resolve that the Order be not made.

#### DRAFT STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

## 2018 No. 0000

# LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND

The Preston (Electoral Changes) Order 2018

Made - - - - Coming into force in accordance with article 1(2) and (3)

Under section 58(4) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009(1) ("the Act"), the Local Government Boundary Commission for England(2) ("the Commission") published a report dated 16th January 2018 stating its recommendations for changes to the electoral arrangements for the city of Preston. The Commission has decided to give effect to those recommendations.

A draft of the instrument has been laid before each House of Parliament, a period of forty days has expired since the day on which it was laid and neither House has resolved that the instrument be not made.

The Commission makes the following Order in exercise of the power conferred by section 59(1), (2) and (4) of the Act.

### Citation and commencement

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Preston (Electoral Changes) Order 2018.
- (2) This article and article 2 come into force on the day after the day on which this Order is made.
- (3) Articles 3 to 5 come into force—
  - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary, or relating, to the election of councillors, on the day after the day on which this Order is made;
  - (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors(3) in 2019.

<sup>(1) 2009</sup> c.20.

<sup>(2)</sup> The Local Government Boundary Commission for England was established on 1st April 2010 by section 55(1) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009.

<sup>(3)</sup> The ordinary day of election of councillors in England and Wales is prescribed by section 37(1) of the Representation of the People Act 1983 (c.2) as amended by section 18(2) of the Representation of the People Act 1985 (c.50) and by paragraph 5 of Schedule 3 to the Greater London Authority Act 1999 (c.29) and as prospectively amended by section 6(16) of the Wales Act 2017 (c.4).

#### Interpretation

- **2.**—(1) In this Order "the map" means the map marked "Map referred to in the Preston (Electoral Changes) Order 2018", held by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England(4).
- (2) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it is to be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

#### Wards of the city of Preston and number of councillors

- **3.**—(1) The existing wards of the city of Preston are abolished.
- (2) The city of Preston is divided into 16 wards as follows—
  - (a) Ashton;
  - (b) Brookfield;
  - (c) Cadley;
  - (d) City Centre;
  - (e) Deepdale;
  - (f) Fishwick & Frenchwood;
  - (g) Garrison;
  - (h) Greyfriars;
  - (i) Ingol & Cottam;
  - (j) Lea & Larches;
  - (k) Plungington;
  - (l) Preston Rural East;
  - (m) Preston Rural North;
  - (n) Ribbleton;
  - (o) Sharoe Green;
  - (p) St Matthew's.
- (3) Each ward comprises the area identified on the map by reference to the name of the ward.
- (4) Three councillors are to be elected for each ward.

#### **Elections of the city of Preston**

- **4.**—(1) Elections of all councillors for each ward of the city of Preston are to be held simultaneously on the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2019.
- (2) The councillors holding office for any ward abolished by article 3(1) immediately before the fourth day after the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2019 are to retire on that fourth day and the newly elected councillors are to come into office on that fourth day.
  - (3) Of the councillors elected for a ward in 2019—
    - (a) one is to retire on the fourth day after the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2020;
    - (b) one is to retire on the fourth day after the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2022;
    - (c) one is to retire on the fourth day after the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2023.

<sup>(4)</sup> Prints of the map are available for inspection at reasonable times at the principal office of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England, 14th floor, Millbank Tower, London SW1P 4QP. It is also accessible online at https:// www.lgbce.org.uk/current-reviews/north-west/lancashire/preston

- (4) Of the councillors elected for a ward in 2019—
  - (a) the first to retire is to be the councillor elected by the smallest number of votes; and
  - (b) the second to retire is to be the councillor elected by the next smallest number of votes.
- (5) In the case of an equality of votes between any persons elected which makes it uncertain which of them is to retire in any year, the person to retire in that year is to be determined by lot.
- (6) If an election of councillors for any ward is not contested, the person to retire in each year is to be determined by lot.
- (7) An election to replace a councillor who retires under paragraph (3) is to be held on the ordinary day of election of councillors in the year in which the retirement is due to take place; and the newly elected councillors are to come into office on the fourth day after that day.
- (8) Where under this article any question is to be determined by lot, the lot is to be drawn at the next practicable meeting of the council after the question has arisen and the drawing is to be conducted under the direction of the person presiding at the meeting.

#### Wards of the parish of Ingol and Tanterton

- **5.**—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Ingol and Tanterton are abolished.
- (2) The parish of Ingol and Tanterton is divided into two parish wards as follows—
  - (a) Ingol North East;
  - (b) Ingol South West & Tanterton.
- (3) Each parish ward comprises the area identified on the map by reference to the name of the parish ward.
  - (4) The number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward is as follows—
    - (a) for Ingol North East, 3;
    - (b) for Ingol South West & Tanterton, 7.

Sealed with the seal of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England

Name
Chief Executive
Local Government Boundary Commission for
England

Date

#### **EXPLANATORY NOTE**

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order makes changes to electoral arrangements for the city of Preston following recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England. The area of the city remains unchanged. The changes made by this Order apply in respect of local government elections held on and after the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2019.

Article 3 abolishes the existing electoral wards of the city of Preston and replaces them with 16 new ones. It establishes the names and areas of the new electoral wards and the number of councillors for each.

Article 4 makes provision for a whole city council election in 2019. Subsequently, the council will revert to the existing system of election by thirds. That article also provides for the order of retirement of councillors in 2020, 2022 and 2023 and the election of their replacements.

Article 5 makes changes to parish wards which are consequential to the changes made by article 3.

The area covered by each ward created by this Order is identified on a map which is available for inspection at reasonable times at the offices of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England, 14th floor, Millbank Tower, London SW1P 4QP. The map may also be accessed at https://www.lgbce.org.uk/current-reviews/north-west/lancashire/preston

An impact assessment has not been produced for this instrument as no impact on the private or voluntary sectors is foreseen.