Changes to legislation: Local Government Act 1972, PART II is up to date with all changes known to be in force on or before 26 July 2024. There are changes that may be brought into force at a future date. Changes that have been made appear in the content and are referenced with annotations. (See end of Document for details) View outstanding changes

SCHEDULES

SCHEDULE 4

LOCAL GOVERNMENT AREAS IN WALES

[F1PART II

COUNTY BOROUGHS

Textual Amendments

F1 Sch. 4 Pt. II substituted (5.7.1994) by 1994 c. 19, ss. 1(2), 66(2)(b), Sch. 1 para. 2 (with ss. 54(5)(7), 55(5), Sch. 17 paras. 22(1), 23(2))

Name	Area
Aberconwy and Colwyn Aberconwy a Cholwyn	The districts of Aberconwy and Colwyn, but excluding (from the district of Colwyn) the communities of Cefnmeiriadog and Trefnant.
Blaenau Gwent Blaenau Gwent	The district of Blaenau Gwent (excluding the community of Llanelly).
Bridgend Pen-y-bont ar Ogwr	The district of Ogwr, but excluding the communities of Wick, St Bride's Major and Ewenny.
Caerphilly Caerffili	The districts of Islwyn and Rhymney Valley.
Merthyr Tydfil Merthyr Tudful	The district of Merthyr Tydfil.
Neath and Port Talbot Castell-nedd a Phort Talbot	The districts of Neath and Port Talbot, together with (from the district of Lliw Valley) the communities of Pontardawe, Gwaun-Cae-Gurwen, Cwmllynfell, Ystalyfera and Cilybebyll.
Newport Casnewydd	The district of Newport.
Rhondda, Cynon, Taff Rhondda, Cynon, Taf	The districts of Rhondda, Cynon Valley, and Taff-Ely, but excluding (from the district of Taff-Ely) the community of Pentyrch.
Torfaen Tor-faen	The district of Torfaen.
The Vale of Glamorgan Bro Morgannwg	The district of Vale of Glamorgan, together with (from the district of Ogwr) the communities of Wick, St Bride's Major and Ewenny.

Changes to legislation: Local Government Act 1972, PART II is up to date with all changes known to be in force on or before 26 July 2024. There are changes that may be brought into force at a future date. Changes that have been made appear in the content and are referenced with annotations. (See end of Document for details) View outstanding changes

Wrexham Wrecsam

The district of Wrexham Maelor, together with (from the district of Glyndwjr) the communities of Chirk, Glyntraian, Llansantffraid Glyn Ceiriog, and Ceiriog Ucha.]

Changes to legislation:

Local Government Act 1972, PART II is up to date with all changes known to be in force on or before 26 July 2024. There are changes that may be brought into force at a future date. Changes that have been made appear in the content and are referenced with annotations. View outstanding changes

Changes and effects yet to be applied to the whole Act associated Parts and Chapters:

Whole provisions yet to be inserted into this Act (including any effects on those provisions):

- s. 80(3B) omitted by 2021 asc 1 Sch. 2 para. 1(3)(c)
- s. 101(6ZA) inserted by 2023 c. 55 Sch. 12 para. 2
- s. 123(2C) inserted by 2023 c. 55 s. 75
- s. 131(2)(n) and word inserted by 2023 asc 3 Sch. 13 para. 16