Status: This is the original version (as it was originally enacted).

SCHEDULES

SCHEDULE 1

THE NEW PRINCIPAL AREAS

Counties

For Part I of Schedule 4 to the 1972 Act substitute—

"PART I

COUNTIES

Name	Area
Anglesey Sir Fôn	The district of Ynys Môn Isle of Anglesey.
Caernarfonshire and Merionethshire Sir Gaernarfon a Meirionnydd	The districts of Arfon, Dwyfor, and Meirionnydd.
Cardiff Caerdydd	The district of Cardiff, together with (from the district of Taff-Ely) the community of Pentyrch.
Cardiganshire Sir Aberteifi	The district of Ceredigion.
Carmarthenshire Sir Gaerfyrddin	The districts of Carmarthen, Llanelli and Dinefwr.
Denbighshire Sir Ddinbych	The district of Rhuddlan, together with (from the district of Glyndwjr) the communities of Aberwheeler, Cynwyd, Llandrillo, Henllan, Denbigh, Llandyrnog, Llangynhafal, Llanynys, Llanrhaeadr-yng-Nghinmeirch, Nantglyn, Cyffylliog, Ruthin, Llanbedr Dyffryn Clwyd, Llanferres, Clocaenog, Efenechtyd, Llandegla, Llanfair Dyffryn Clwyd, Llanarmon-yn-Iajl, Llanelidan, Derwen, Betws Gwerfil Goch, Gwyddelwern, Bryneglwys, Corwen, Llantysilio, Llangollen and Llangollen Rural with (from the district of Colwyn) the communities of Trefnant and Cefnmeiriadog.
Flintshire Sir y Fflint	The districts of Alyn and Deeside and Delyn.

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally enacted).

Name	Area
Monmouthshire Sir Fynwy	The district of Monmouth together with (from the district of Blaenau Gwent) the community of Llanelly.
Pembrokeshire Sir Benfro	The districts of Preseli Pembrokeshire and South Pembrokeshire, together with Caldey Island and St Margaret's Island.
Powys Powys	The districts of Montgomeryshire, Radnorshire and Brecknock, together with (from the district of Glyndwjr) the communities of Llanrhaeadr-ym- Mochnant, Llansilin and Llangedwyn.
Swansea Abertawe	The district of Swansea, together with (from the district of Lliw Valley) the communities of Gowerton, Llwchwr, Gorseinon, Grovesend, Pontardulais, Mawr, Pont-Lliw, Penllergaer, Llangyfelach and Clydach."

County boroughs

For Part II of Schedule 4 to the 1972 Act substitute—

"PART II

COUNTY BOROUGHS

Name	Area
Aberconwy and Colwyn Aberconwy a Cholwyn	The districts of Aberconwy and Colwyn, but excluding (from the district of Colwyn) the communities of Cefnmeiriadog and Trefnant.
Blaenau Gwent Blaenau Gwent	The district of Blaenau Gwent (excluding the community of Llanelly).
Bridgend Pen-y-bont ar Ogwr	The district of Ogwr, but excluding the communities of Wick, St Bride's Major and Ewenny.
Caerphilly Caerffili	The districts of Islwyn and Rhymney Valley.
Merthyr Tydfil Merthyr Tudful	The district of Merthyr Tydfil.
Neath and Port Talbot Castell-nedd a Phort Talbot	The districts of Neath and Port Talbot, together with (from the district of Lliw Valley) the communities of Pontardawe, Gwaun-Cae-Gurwen, Cwmllynfell, Ystalyfera and Cilybebyll.

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally enacted).

Name	Area
Newport Casnewydd	The district of Newport.
Rhondda, Cynon, Taff Rhondda, Cynon, Taf	The districts of Rhondda, Cynon Valley, and Taff-Ely, but excluding (from the district of Taff-Ely) the community of Pentyrch.
Torfaen Tor-faen	The district of Torfaen.
The Vale of Glamorgan Bro Morgannwg	The district of Vale of Glamorgan, together with (from the district of Ogwr) the communities of Wick, St Bride's Major and Ewenny.
Wrexham Wrecsam	The district of Wrexham Maelor, together with (from the district of Glyndwjr) the communities of Chirk, Glyntraian, Llansantffraid Glyn Ceiriog, and Ceiriog Ucha."

The preserved counties

For Part III of Schedule 4 to the 1972 Act substitute—

"PART III

THE PRESERVED COUNTIES AND THEIR AREAS

Name	Area
Clwyd	The county of Clwyd, but excluding the communities of Llanrhaeadr-ym-Mochnant, Llansilin and Llangedwyn.
Dyfed	The county of Dyfed.
Gwent	The county of Gwent.
Gwynedd	The county of Gwynedd.
Mid Glamorgan Morgannwg Ganol	The county of Mid Glamorgan, but excluding the communities of Wick, St Bride's Major, Ewenny and Pentyrch.
Powys	The county of Powys with the addition of the communities of Llanrhaeadr-ym-Mochnant, Llansilin and Llangedwyn from the county of Clwyd.
South Glamorgan De Morgannwg	The county of South Glamorgan with the addition of the communities of Wick, St Bride's Major, Ewenny and Pentyrch from the county of Mid Glamorgan.

Name	Area
West Glamorgan Gorllewin Morgannwg.	The county of West Glamorgan."