

# Justices of the Peace Act 1997

## **1997 CHAPTER 25**

#### PART III

### MAGISTRATES' COURTS COMMITTEES

## **General provisions as to magistrates' courts committees**

- (1) There shall be committees (known as "magistrates' courts committees") set up in accordance with the provisions of this Part of this Act, with such functions as are or may be conferred on them by or under this or any other Act and such other functions relating to matters of an administrative character as they may be authorised by the Lord Chancellor to undertake.
- (2) Subject to section 32 below and to any order made under section 69 of the Police and Magistrates' Courts Act 1994 before the commencement of this Act, there shall in England be a magistrates' courts committee for each of the following areas—
  - (a) every retained county;
  - (b) every metropolitan district;
  - (c) every outer London borough;
  - (d) the inner London area; and
  - (e) the City of London.
- (3) Subject to section 32 below and to any order made under section 69 of the Police and Magistrates' Courts Act 1994 before the commencement of this Act, there shall in Wales be a magistrates' courts committee for every retained county.