STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

1956 No. 2041

DESIGNATION

The Visiting Forces (Designation) Order, 1956

Made - - - - 19th December 1956
Coming into Operation 1st January 1957

At the Court at Buckingham Palace, the 19th day of December, 1956

Present,

The Queen's Most Excellent Majesty in Council

Whereas it appears to Her Majesty that having regard to the arrangements for common defence to which Her Majesty's Government in the United Kingdom and the governments of the countries specified in the Schedule to this Order are parties it is expedient that the provisions of the Visiting Forces Act, 1952, following subsection (2) of section one thereof should have effect in relation to each of the countries so specified:

Now, therefore, Her Majesty, in exercise of the power conferred upon Her by subsection (2) of section one of the Visiting Forces Act, 1952, is pleased, by and with the advice of Her Privy Council, to order, and it is hereby ordered, as follows:—

- 1. Each of the countries specified in the Schedule to this Order is hereby designated for the purposes of all the provisions of the Visiting Forces Act, 1952, following subsection (2) of section one thereof.
- **2.**—(1) This Order may be cited as the Visiting Forces (Designation) Order, 1956, and shall come into operation on the first day of January, 1957.
- (2) This Order shall not extend to any of the territories specified in subsection (3) of section fifteen of the Visiting Forces Act, 1952.

W. G. Agnew

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format. The electronic version of this UK Statutory Instrument has been contributed by Westlaw and is taken from the printed publication. Read more

SCHEDULE

Luxembourg, Turkey, Greece, Denmark, Portugal and Italy.

EXPLANATORY NOTE

Section 1 (1) of the Visiting Forces Act, 1952, provides that references in the Act to a country to which a provision of the Act applies are references to Commonwealth countries and to any country designated for the purposes of that provision by Order in Council. This Order designates Luxembourg, Turkey, Greece, Denmark, Portugal and Italy.