STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

1989 No. 2291

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND AND WALES

The Borough of Tonbridge and Malling (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1989

Made - - - - 5th December 1989

Coming into force in accordance with article 2

Whereas in pursuance of section 51(1) of the Local Government Act 1972(1), the Local Government Boundary Commission for England on 20th July 1988 submitted to me proposals for the future electoral arrangements for the Borough of Tonbridge and Malling;

And whereas in pursuance of a resolution of 14th March 1989 the Council of the Borough of Tonbridge and Malling have, under section 7(4)(a) of that Act, requested me to provide for a system of whole council elections to the Council;

Now, therefore, in exercise of the power conferred upon me by sections 7(6), 51(2) and 67 of that Act, I hereby make the following Order:—

- 1. This Order may be cited as the Borough of Tonbridge and Malling (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1989.
- **2.**—(1) Subject to paragraph (2) below, this Order shall come into force on the ordinary day of election of councillors (within the meaning of section 37 of the Representation of the People Act 1983(2) in 1991 except that, for the purpose of all proceedings preliminary or relating to an election to be held on or after that day, it shall come into force on 10th October 1990.
 - (2) Articles 5(1) and 6(1) shall come into force forthwith.
- **3.**—(1) The map referred to in this Order is the map marked "MAP REFERRED TO IN THE BOROUGH OF TONBRIDGE AND MALLING (ELECTORAL ARRANGEMENTS) ORDER 1989" and deposited with the Secretary of State.
- (2) Copies of the map, marked "COPY OF THE MAP REFERRED TO IN THE BOROUGH OF TONBRIDGE AND MALLING (ELECTORAL ARRANGEMENTS) ORDER 1989" shall be deposited with the council of the Borough of Tonbridge and Malling and with the Director General of the Ordnance Survey and such copies shall, at all reasonable times, be open to inspection by any person.

^{(1) 1972} c. 70.

^{(2) 1983} c. 2.

- (3) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, waterway, or other similar geographical feature, it shall be treated as running along the centre line thereof.
- **4.**—(1) The existing wards of the Borough of Tonbridge and Malling shall be abolished and that Borough shall be divided into twenty-seven wards which shall bear the names set out in column 1 of the Schedule to this Order, and each such ward shall comprise the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the ward, and demarcated by red lines thereon.
- (2) The number of councillors to be elected for each ward constituted by this Order shall be the number specified in column 2 of the Schedule to this Order opposite to the name of the ward as given in column 1 of that Schedule.
- **5.**—(1) The ordinary elections of councillors to the Borough of Tonbridge and Malling due to take place in 1990 shall not take place.
- (2) The ordinary elections of all councillors to the Borough of Tonbridge and Malling shall take place simultaneously on the ordinary day of election of councillors in 1991 and every fourth year thereafter.
- (3) All the councillors of the Borough of Tonbridge and Malling shall retire together in 1991 on the fourth day after the ordinary day of election and the newly elected councillors shall come into office on the day on which their predecessors retire.
- **6.**—(1) The ordinary elections of parish councillors for any parish or ward of a parish situated in the Borough of Tonbridge and Malling due to take place in 1990 shall take place instead in 1991 and every fourth year thereafter.
- (2) The parish councillors to whom the foregoing paragraph applies shall retire on the fourth day after the ordinary day of election of councillors in 1991 and the newly elected councillors shall come into office on the day on which their predecessors retire.

Home Office 5th December 1989 David Waddington
One of Her Majesty's Principal Secretaries of
State

SCHEDULE Article 4

NAMES OF AND NUMBERS OF COUNCILLORS FOR NEW WARDS

(1) Name of new ward	(2) Number of councillors
Aylesford	3
Birling, Leybourne and Ryarsh	2
Blue Bell Hill	2
Borough Green	2
Burham, Eccles and Wouldham	2
Cage Green	2
Castle	2
Ditton	3
East Malling	2
East Peckham	2
Hadlow	2
Higham	3
Hildenborough	3
Ightham	1
Judd	2
Larkfield North	2
Larkfield South	2
Long Mill	2
Medway	2
Oast	1
Snodland East	2
Snodland West	2
Trench	3
Vauxhall	2
Wateringbury	1
West Malling, West Peckham and Mereworth	2
Wrotham	1