#### STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

## 1992 No. 1082

### **PROBATION**

# The Combined Probation Areas (Humberside) Order 1992

 Made
 29th April 1992

 Coming into force
 1st May 1992

In exercise of the powers conferred upon me by section 54(4) of, and paragraph 1 of Schedule 3 to, the Powers of Criminal Courts Act 1973(1), and after the consultation required by that paragraph, I hereby make the following Order:

- 1. This Order may be cited as the Combined Probation Areas (Humberside) Order 1992 and shall come into force on 1st May 1992.
- **2.** Schedule 2 to the Combined Probation Areas Order 1986(**2**) shall be amended by substituting for the entry in respect of Humberside the following entry—

(1)	(2)	(3)
Petty Sessions Area	Probation Area	Number of justices on probation committee
Bainton, Wilton and Holme Beacon	Humberside	2
Beverley		1
Dickering and North Holderness		2
Epworth and Goole		1
Grimsby and Cleethorpes		4
Kingston upon Hull		6
South Hunsley Beacon and Howdenshire		2
South and Middle Holderness		1
Scunthorpe, Brigg and Barton		3

<sup>(1) 1973</sup> c. 62

<sup>(2)</sup> S.I. 1986/1713, to which there are amendments not relevant to this Order.

- **3.** The three members of the Humberside Probation Committee appointed before 1st May 1992 by the justices for the petty sessions areas of Bainton Beacon, Holme Beacon and Wilton Beacon shall decide by agreement, or in default of agreement by lot, which two of them shall continue in office as if appointed by the justices for the new petty sessions area of Bainton, Wilton and Holme Beacon(3).
- **4.** The two members of the Humberside Probation Committee appointed before 1st May 1992 by the justices for the petty sessions areas of Dickering and North Holderness shall continue in office as if they had been appointed by the justices for the new petty sessions area of Dickering and North Holderness.
- **5.** The three members of the Humberside Probation Committee appointed before 1st May 1992 by the justices for the petty sessions areas of South Hunsley Beacon and Howdenshire shall decide by agreement, or in default of agreement by lot, which two of them shall continue in office as if appointed by the justices for the new petty sessions area of South Hunsley Beacon and Howdenshire.
- **6.** The two members of the Humberside Probation Committee appointed before 1st May 1992 by the justices for the petty sessions areas of South Holderness and Middle Holderness shall decide by agreement, or in default of agreement by lot, which one of them shall continue in office as if appointed by the justices for the new petty sessions area of South and Middle Holderness.
- 7. The four members of the Humberside Probation Committee appointed before 1st May 1992 by the justices for the petty sessions areas of Scunthorpe, Brigg and Barton on Humber shall decide by agreement, or in default of agreement by lot, which three of them shall continue in office as if appointed by the justices for the new petty sessions area of Scunthorpe, Brigg and Barton.

Kenneth Clarke
One of Her Majesty's Principal Secretaries of
State Home Office

29th April 1992

<sup>(3)</sup> The new petty sessions areas referred to in articles 3 to 7 were constituted by the Petty Sessional Divisions (Humberside) Order 1992 (S.I. 1992/1057).

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

#### **EXPLANATORY NOTE**

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order amends the Combined Probation Areas Order 1986 to take account of the reorganisation of petty sessions areas in Humberside effected by the Petty Sessional Division (Humberside) Order 1992 (S.I.1992/1057) which comes into force on 1st May 1992.