#### STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

# 1992 No.1298

# INTERNATIONAL IMMUNITIES AND PRIVILEGES

The Arms Control and Disarmament (Privileges and Immunities) Act 1988 (Overseas Territories) Order 1992

Made - - - - 4th June 1992 Coming into force - - 1st July 1992

At the Court at Buckingham Palace, the 4th day of June 1992 Present,

The Queen's Most Excellent Majesty in Council

Her Majesty, by virtue and in exercise of the powers conferred on Her by section 2(3) of Arms Control and Disarmament (Privileges and Immunities) Act 1988(1) or otherwise in Her Majesty vested, is pleased, by and with the advice of Her Privy Council, to order, and it is hereby ordered, as follows:

- 1. This Order may be cited as the Arms Control and Disarmament (Privileges and Immunities) Act 1988 (Overseas Territories) Order 1992. It shall come into force on 1st July 1992.
- **2.** Section 1(2)—(4) of the Arms Control and Disarmament (Privileges and Immunities) Act 1988 shall extend to the Territories listed in the Schedule to this Order, subject to the following modifications:
  - (a) in section 1(2) as so extended the words "but no such Order shall be made unless a draft of it has been laid before and approved by a resolution of each House of Parliament" shall be deleted; and
  - (b) in section 1(3) as so extended the words "the Secretary of State" shall be deleted and replaced by the words "the Governor".
- **3.** For the purposes of construing the said Act as so extended as part of the law of any Territory to which it extends, "the Governor" means the officer for the time being administering the government of that Territory.

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

G. I. de Deney Clerk of the Privy Council

#### SCHEDULE

Article 2

## TERRITORIES TO WHICH THE ORDER EXTENDS

Anguilla

Bermuda

**British Antarctic Territory** 

British Indian Ocean Territory

Cayman Islands

Falkland Islands

Gibraltar

Hong Kong

Montserrat

Pitcairn, Henderson, Ducie and Oeno Islands

St Helena and Dependencies

South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands

Sovereign Base Areas of Akrotiri and Dhekelia

Turks and Caicos Islands

Virgin Islands

### **EXPLANATORY NOTE**

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order extends the provisions of section 1(2) to (4) of the Arms Control and Disarmament (Privileges and Immunities) Act 1988, subject to specified modifications, to the Territories listed in the Schedule.