STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

1996 No. 1926 (S.155)

REPRESENTATION OF THE PEOPLE

EUROPEAN PARLIAMENTARY ELECTIONS

The European Parliamentary Constituencies (Scotland) Order 1996

Made--23rd July 1996Coming into force in accordance with Article 1(2)

At the Court at Buckingham Palace, the 23rd day of July 1996

Present,

The Queen's Most Excellent Majesty in Council

Whereas in pursuance of paragraph 1 of Schedule 2 to the European Parliamentary Elections Act 1978(1) the Boundary Commission for Scotland have submitted to the Secretary of State a supplementary report dated 6th June 1996 showing the European Parliamentary constituencies into which they recommend, in accordance with the provisions of paragraph 1(2) of Schedule 1 to that Act and Part II of Schedule 2 to that Act, that Scotland should be divided:

And whereas the Secretary of State has laid that report before Parliament together with the draft of this Order in Council to give effect to the recommendations contained in the report and each House of Parliament has by resolution approved the said draft:

Now, therefore, Her Majesty, in pursuance of paragraph 4B(5) of Schedule 2 to the European Parliamentary Elections Act 1978(2), is pleased, by and with the advice of Her Privy Council, to order, and it is hereby ordered, as follows:—

1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the European Parliamentary Constituencies (Scotland) Order 1996.

^{(1) 1978} c. 10: paragraph 1 of Schedule 2 was substituted by section 1(1) of the European Parliamentary Elections Act 1981 (c. 8) and amended by paragraph 5(2) of Schedule 3 to the Parliamentary Constituencies Act 1986 (c. 56): the words "European Parliamentary" were substituted for the words "European Assembly" in the provisions concerning the citation of the 1978 and 1981 Acts by section 3(1)(b) and (2)(b) of the European Communities (Amendment) Act 1986 (c. 58) on the coming into force of the Single European Act on 1st July 1987.

⁽²⁾ Paragraph 4B was inserted by paragraph 5(4) of Schedule 3 to the Parliamentary Constituencies Act 1986.

(2) Subject to paragraph 8(1) of Schedule 2 to the European Parliamentary Elections Act 1978(3), this Order shall come into force on the fourteenth day after the day on which it is made.

2. Scotland shall be divided into the eight European Parliamentary constituencies named in column 1 of the Schedule to this Order and each such constituency shall consist of the parliamentary constituencies specified opposite thereto in column 2 of that Schedule, being the parliamentary constituencies described in the Parliamentary Constituencies (Scotland) Order 1995(**4**).

3. The European Parliamentary Constituencies (Scotland) Order 1984(**5**) and the European Parliamentary Constituencies (Scotland) (Miscellaneous Changes) Order 1992(**6**) are revoked.

N. H. Nicholls Clerk of the Privy Council

⁽³⁾ Paragraph 8(1) was amended by paragraph 5(9) of Schedule 3 to the Parliamentary Constituencies Act 1986 and by section 3(1) and (3) of the European Communities (Amendment) Act 1986.

⁽**4**) S.I.1995/1037.

⁽⁵⁾ S.I. 1984/548.

⁽⁶⁾ S.I. 1992/236.

SCHEDULE

Article 2

NAMES AND CONTENTS OF THE EUROPEAN PARLIAMENTARY CONSTITUENCIES IN SCOTLAND

1 Name	2 Contents
Central Scotland	The parliamentary constituencies of-
	Airdrie and Shotts
	Coatbridge and Chryston
	Cumbernauld and Kilsyth
	East Kilbride
	Falkirk East
	Falkirk West
	Hamilton North and Bellshill
	Hamilton South
	Kilmarnock and Loudoun
	Motherwell and Wishaw
Glasgow	The parliamentary constituencies of-
	Glasgow Anniesland
	Glasgow Baillieston
	Glasgow Cathcart
	Glasgow Govan
	Glasgow Kelvin
	Glasgow Maryhill
	Glasgow Pollok
	Glasgow Rutherglen
	Glasgow Shettleston
	Glasgow Springburn
Highlands and Islands	The parliamentary constituencies of-
	Argyll and Bute
	Caithness, Sutherland and Easter Ross
	Inverness East, Nairn and Lochaber
	Moray
	Orkney and Shetland

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

1 Name	2 Contents
1111111	Ross, Skye and Inverness West
	Western Isles
Lothians	The parliamentary constituencies of-
	Edinburgh Central
	Edinburgh East and Musselburgh
	Edinburgh North and Leith
	Edinburgh Pentlands
	Edinburgh South
	Edinburgh West
	Linlithgow
	Livingston
	Midlothian
Mid Scotland and Fife	The parliamentary constituencies of-
	Central Fife
	Dunfermline East
	Dunfermline West
	Kirkcaldy
	North East Fife
	North Tayside
	Ochil
	Perth
	Stirling
North East Scotland	The parliamentary constituencies of-
	Aberdeen Central
	Aberdeen North
	Aberdeen South
	Angus
	Banff and Buchan
	Dundee East
	Dundee West
	Gordon
	4

1	2
Name	Contents
	West Aberdeenshire and Kincardine
South of Scotland	The parliamentary constituencies of-
	Ayr
	Carrick, Cumnock and Doon Valley
	Clydesdale
	Cunninghame South
	Dumfries
	East Lothian
	Galloway and Upper Nithsdale
	Roxburgh and Berwickshire
	Tweeddale, Ettrick and Lauderdale
West of Scotland	The parliamentary constituencies of-
	Clydebank and Milngavie
	Cunninghame North
	Dumbarton
	Eastwood
	Greenock and Inverclyde
	Paisley North
	Paisley South
	Strathkelvin and Bearsden
	West Renfrewshire

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order gives effect without modification to the recommendations contained in the supplementary report of the Boundary Commission for Scotland dated 6th June 1996. Article 2 of, and the Schedule to, this Order set out the European Parliamentary Constituencies into which Scotland will be divided, but these constituencies will only have effect from the next European Parliamentary general election (Article 1(2)).