STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

1996 No. 2009

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND AND WALES

The Local Government Changes for England (Sheriffs) Order 1996

Made	31st July 1996
Laid before Parliament	9th August 1996
Coming into force	lst April 1997

The Secretary of State for the Environment, in exercise of the powers conferred on him by sections 17 and 26 of the Local Government Act 1992(1), and of all other powers enabling him in that behalf, hereby makes the following Order:

Citation and commencement

1. This Order may be cited as the Local Government Changes for England (Sheriffs) Order 1996 and shall come into force on 1st April 1997.

Sheriffs

- 2.—(1) In the Sheriffs Act 1887(2), in Schedule 2A (meaning of "county")
 - (a) in the entry relating to Durham, in column (2) of the Table, after "Durham" there shall be inserted ", Darlington"(**3**); and
 - (b) the following entries shall be inserted at the appropriate place in the Table in alphabetical order —

"Bedfordshire	Bedfordshire and Luton";(4)
"Buckinghamshire	Buckinghamshire and Milton Keynes";(5)

⁽**1**) 1992 c. 19.

^{(2) 1887} c. 55; Schedule 2A was added by regulation 8 of S.I. 1995/1748.

⁽³⁾ The county of Darlington is constituted on 1st April 1997 by S.I. 1995/1772.

⁽⁴⁾ The county of Luton is constituted on 1st April 1997 by S.I. 1995/1776.

⁽⁵⁾ The county of Milton Keynes is constituted on 1st April 1997 by S.I. 1995/1769.

"Derbyshire	Derbyshire and Derby";(6)
"Dorset	Dorset, Bournemouth and Poole";(7)
"East Sussex	East Sussex and Brighton and Hove";(8);
"Hampshire	Hampshire, Portsmouth and Southampton";(9)
"Leicestershire	Leicestershire and Leicester";(10)
"Staffordshire	Staffordshire and Stoke-on-Trent";(11) and
"Wiltshire	Wiltshire and Thamesdown".(12)

(2) Section 4 of the Sheriffs Act 1887 (qualifications of sheriffs) shall not apply in relation to any appointment to the office of high sheriff of the county of Rutland(13) of the person who is (for the time being) high sheriff of the county of Leicestershire.

Signed by authority of the Secretary of State for the Environment

31st July 1996

Paul Beresford Parliamentary Under Secretary of State, Department of the Environment

⁽⁶⁾ The county of Derby is constituted on 1st April 1997 by S.I. 1995/1773.

⁽⁷⁾ The counties of Bournemouth and Poole are constituted on 1st April 1997 by S.I. 1995/1771.

⁽⁸⁾ The counties of Boardenbach and Foore are constituted on 1st April 1997 by S.I. 1995/1770.
(9) The counties of Portsmouth and Southampton are constituted on 1st April 1997 by S.I. 1995/1775.

⁽¹⁰⁾ The county of Leicester is constituted on 1st April 1997 by S.I. 1996/507.

⁽¹¹⁾ The county of Stoke-on-Trent is constituted on 1st April 1997 by S.I. 1995/1779. (12) The county of Thamesdown is constituted on 1st April 1997 by S.I. 1995/1774.

⁽¹³⁾ The county of Rutland is constituted on 1st April 1997 by S.I. 1996/507.

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order makes incidental, consequential, transitional or supplementary provision in relation to orders ("section 17 orders") already made under section 17 of the Local Government Act 1992 which effect structural and boundary changes in relation to local government areas in England.

Article 2(1) amends Schedule 2A to the Sheriffs Act 1887 which makes provision in respect of the meaning of "county" for the purposes of the Act and article 2(2) excludes, in the case of the appointment as high sheriff of Rutland of the person appointed as high sheriff of Leicestershire, a provision that a person shall not be appointed as sheriff of a county unless he has sufficient land in the county.

Section 130(1A) of the Reserve Forces Act 1980 (c. 9) (inserted by regulation 9 of S.I.1995/1748) provides that, for the purposes of the provisions of that Act relating to the lieutenancies in England, "county" has the same meaning as in the Sheriffs Act 1887.