STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

1998 No. 1460

MENTAL HEALTH

The Mental Health Review Tribunals (Regions) Order 1998

Made - - - - 12th June 1998 Laid before Parliament 15th June 1998 Coming into force - - 1st August 1998

The Secretary of State for Health, in exercise of powers conferred by sections 65(1B) and (1C) of the Mental Health Act 1983(1) and of all other powers enabling him in that behalf, hereby makes the following Order:—

Citation, commencement and interpretation

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Mental Health Review Tribunals (Regions) Order 1998 and shall come into force on 1st August 1998.
 - (2) In this Order "the Act" means the Mental Health Act 1983.

Determination of Regions

2. Each of the regions described in column (2) of the Schedule to this Order is hereby determined as a region for the purposes of section 65(1A)(a) of the Act (regions of England for which there are to be Mental Health Review Tribunals) and shall be known by the name specified in relation to it in column (1) of that Schedule.

Transitional provision

3.—(1) In this article—

"former region" means a region determined in accordance with the Mental Health Review Tribunals (Regions) Order 1996(2) and in existence immediately before 1st August 1998;

"new region" means a region determined by article 2 of this Order;

"relevant new region" means—

(a) in relation to the former regions Anglia and Oxford Region and North Thames Region, the new North London and East Region,

^{(1) 1983} c. 20; section 65 was amended by the Health Authorities Act 1995 (c. 17), Schedule 1, paragraph 107(6).

⁽²⁾ S.I.1996/510 which is revoked by this Order.

- (b) in relation to the former regions Northern and Yorkshire Region and Trent Region, the new Trent and Northern and Yorkshire Region,
- (c) in relation to the former regions South and West Region and South Thames Region, the new South London and South and West Region, and
- (d) in relation to the former regions North West Region and West Midlands Region, the new West Midlands and North West Region; and
- "Tribunal" means a Mental Health Review Tribunal.
- (2) Anything done by or in relation to, or any application or reference made to or in relation to, or any direction, authorisation or notice given by or in relation to, the Tribunal for a former region before 1st August 1998 is deemed to have been done by or in relation to, or made to or in relation to, or given by or in relation to, the Tribunal for the relevant new region.
- (3) Any person who, immediately before 1st August 1998, was a member of a Tribunal for a former region is deemed to have been appointed to be a member of the Tribunal for the relevant new region and any reference in the instrument under which he was appointed to a Tribunal for a former region is deemed to be a reference to the Tribunal for the relevant new region.

Revocation

4. The Mental Health Review Tribunals (Regions) Order 1996(3) is hereby revoked.

Signed by authority of the Secretary of State for Health

Paul Boateng
Parliamentary Under Secretary of State,
Department of Health

12th June 1998

SCHEDULE Article 2

REGIONS OF MENTAL HEALTH REVIEW TRIBUNALS

(1)	(2)
Name of Region North London and East Region	The counties of Bedfordshire, Bracknell, Buckinghamshire, Cambridgeshire, Essex, Hertfordshire, Luton, Milton Keynes, Newbury, Norfolk, Northamptonshire, Oxfordshire, Peterborough, Reading, Slough, Southend, Suffolk, Thurrock, Windsor and Maidenhead and Wokingham; the London boroughs of Barking and Dagenham, Barnet, Brent, Camden, Ealing, Enfield, Hackney, Hammersmith and Fulham, Haringey, Harrow, Havering, Hillingdon, Hounslow, Islington, Newham, Redbridge, Tower Hamlets and Waltham Forest; the Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea; the Cities of London and Westminster; and the Inner Temple and the Middle Temple.
Trent and Northern and Yorkshire Region	The counties of Cumbria (except the districts of Barrow-in-Furness and South Lakeland), Darlington, Derby, Derbyshire (except, in the borough of High Peak, the wards of All Saints, Gamesley, St. Andrew's, St. Charles, St. James, St. John's, Simmondley and Tintwistle), Durham, East Riding of Yorkshire, Hartlepool, Leicester, Leicestershire, Lincolnshire, North-East Lincolnshire, North Lincolnshire, Nottingham, Nottinghamshire, Rutland and South Yorkshire, the City of Kingston-upon-Hull, Middlesbrough, Northumberland, North Yorkshire, Redcar and Cleveland, Stockton-on-Tees, Tyne and Wear, West Yorkshire and York.
South London and South and West Region	The counties of Bath and North East Somerset, Bournemouth, Brighton and Hove, the City of Bristol, Cornwall, Devon, Dorset, East Sussex, Gloucestershire, Hampshire, Isle of Wight, Kent, Medway Towns, North West Somerset, Plymouth, Poole, Portsmouth, Somerset, Southampton, South Gloucestershire, Surrey, Swindon, Torbay, Wiltshire and West Sussex; the Isles of Scilly; the London boroughs of Bexley, Bromley, Croydon, Greenwich, Lambeth, Lewisham, Merton, Richmond upon Thames, Southwark, Sutton and Wandsworth; and the Royal Borough of Kingston upon Thames.

(1)	(2)
Name of Region	Description of Region
West Midlands and North West Region	The counties of Blackburn, Blackpool, Cheshire, Greater Manchester, Halton, Hereford shire, Lancashire, Merseyside, Shropshire, Staffordshire, Stoke-on-Trent, Warrington, Warwick shire, West Midlands, Worcestershire and The Wrekin; in the county of Cumbria, the districts of Barrow-in-Furness and South Lakeland; and in the county of Derbyshire, in the borough of High Peak, the wards of All Saints, Gamesley, St. Andrew's, St. Charles, St. James, St. John's, Simmondley and Tintwistle.

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order determines the regions of England for which Mental Health Review Tribunals are to exercise jurisdiction under the Mental Health Act 1983 from 1st August 1998. The Order reduces the number of such regions from eight to four and makes the necessary transitional provision to ensure continuity of any matters pending before Tribunals in existence before 1st August 1998.