STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

1998 No. 2506

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND AND WALES

The Borough of Corby (Electoral Changes) Order 1998

Made--8th October 1998Coming into force in accordance with article 1(2)

Whereas the Local Government Commission for England, acting pursuant to section 15(4) of the Local Government Act 1992(1), has submitted to the Secretary of State a report dated March 1997 on its review of the borough of Corby(2) together with its recommendations:

And whereas the Secretary of State has decided to give effect to those recommendations:

Now, therefore, the Secretary of State, in exercise of the powers conferred on him by sections 17(3) and 26 of the Local Government Act 1992, and of all other powers enabling him in that behalf, hereby makes the following Order:

Citation, commencement and interpretation

1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Borough of Corby (Electoral Changes) Order 1998.

(2) This Order shall come into force for all purposes on 6th May 1999, except that for the purpose of all proceedings preliminary or relating to an election to be held on or after that date this Order shall come into force on 10th October 1998.

(3) In this Order-

"the borough" means the borough of Corby;

"existing", in relation to a ward, means the ward as it exists on the date this Order is made;

any reference to "the map" is a reference to the map prepared by the Department of the Environment, Transport and the Regions, marked "Map of the Borough of Corby (Electoral Changes) Order 1998", and deposited in accordance with regulation 27 of the Local Government Changes for England Regulations 1994(4).

Wards of Corby

2.—(1) The existing wards of the borough(5) shall be abolished.

⁽**1**) 1992 c. 19.

⁽²⁾ The non-metropolitan district of Corby has the status of a borough.

⁽³⁾ Section 17 is amended by section 39(4) and (5) of the Police and Magistrates' Courts Act 1994 (c. 29).

⁽⁴⁾ S.I.1994/867, to which there are amendments not relevant to this Order.

⁽⁵⁾ see The Borough of Corby (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1975 (S.I. 1975/2019).

(2) The borough shall be divided into thirteen wards which shall bear the names set out in column (1) of the Schedule.

(3) The wards shall comprise the areas described in column (2) of the Schedule by reference to parishes, or, where no area is so described, the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the ward and demarcated by red lines; and the number of councillors to be elected for each ward shall be the number specified in respect of the ward in column (3) of the Schedule.

(4) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, waterway or other similar geographical feature, it shall be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

Revocation

3. The Borough of Corby (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1975 is hereby revoked.

Signed by authority of the Secretary of State

Hilary Armstrong Minister of State, Department of the Environment, Transport and the Regions

8th October 1998

SCHEDULE

Article 2

BOROUGH OF CORBY: NAMES AND AREAS OF WARDS AND NUMBERS OF COUNCILLORS

(1)	(2)	(3)
Name of ward	Area of ward	Number of councillors
Central		3
Danesholme		3
East		2
Hazelwood		3
Hillside		1
Kingswood		3
Lloyds		3
Lodge Park		3
Rural East	The parishes of Stanion and Weldon	2
Rural North	The parishes of Gretton and Rockingham	1
Rural West	The parishes of Cottingham, East Carlton and Middleton	1
Shire Lodge		2
West		2

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order gives effect to recommendations by the Local Government Commission for England for electoral changes in the borough of Corby.

Article 2 abolishes all of the existing wards of the borough and provides for the creation of 13 new wards. That article and the Schedule also make provision for the names and areas of, and numbers of councillors for, the new wards.

The areas of the new borough wards are demarcated on the map described in article 1(3). Prints of the map may be inspected at all reasonable times at the offices of the Corby Borough Council and at the offices of the Secretary of State for the Environment, Transport and the Regions, which are located at 2nd Floor, Ashdown House, 123 Victoria Street, London SW1E 6DE.

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.