STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

# 1998 No. 2570

# The Borough of Copeland (Electoral Changes) Order 1998

### Citation, commencement and interpretation

1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Borough of Copeland (Electoral Changes) Order 1998.

(2) This Order shall come into force on 6th May 1999, except that for the purpose of all proceedings preliminary or relating to an election to be held on or after that date this Order shall come into force on the day after the day on which it is made.

### (3) In this Order-

"the borough" means the borough of Copeland;

"existing", in relation to a ward, means the ward as it exists on the date this Order is made; and

any reference to "the map" is a reference to the map prepared by the Department of the Environment, Transport and the Regions marked "Map of the Borough of Copeland (Electoral Changes) Order 1998", and deposited in accordance with regulation 27 of the Local Government Changes for England Regulations 1994(1).

## Wards of Copeland

**2.**—(1) The existing wards of the borough(**2**) shall be abolished.

(2) The borough shall be divided into twenty-five wards which shall bear the names set out in column (1) of Schedule (1).

(3) The wards shall comprise the areas described in column (2) of that Schedule by reference to parishes, parish wards, or parishes and parish wards, or, where no area is so described, the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the ward and demarcated by red lines; and the number of councillors to be elected for each ward shall be the number specified in respect of the ward in column (3) of that Schedule.

(4) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, waterway or other similar geographical feature, it shall be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

#### Wards of the parish of Egremont

**3.**—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Egremont shall be abolished.

(2) The parish shall be divided into two parish wards which shall bear the names set out in column (1) of Schedule 2; each parish ward shall comprise the area of the district ward specified in respect of the parish ward in column (2) of that Schedule and the number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward shall be five.

<sup>(1)</sup> S.I.1994/867, to which there are amendments not relevant to this Order.

<sup>(2)</sup> see The Borough of Copeland (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1978 (S.I. 1978/1465).

#### Wards of the parish of St Bees

**4.**—(1) The parish of St Bees shall be divided into three parish wards which shall bear the names set out in column (1) of Schedule 3.

(2) The parish wards shall comprise the areas described in column (2) of that Schedule by reference to wards of the borough, and the numbers of councillors to be elected for each ward shall be the number specified in column (3) of that Schedule.

#### Wards of the parish of St John Beckermet

**5.**—(1) The parish of St John Beckermet shall be divided into two parish wards which shall bear the names set out in column (1) of Schedule 4.

(2) The parish wards shall comprise the areas described in column (2) of that Schedule by reference to wards of the borough, and the numbers of councillors to be elected for each ward shall be the number specified in column (3) of that Schedule.

#### Wards of the parish of Millom Without

**6.**—(1) The parish of Millom Without shall be divided into two parish wards which shall bear the names set out in column (1) of Schedule 5.

(2) The parish wards shall comprise the areas described in column (2) of that Schedule by reference to wards of the borough, and the numbers of councillors to be elected for each ward shall be the number specified in column (3) of that Schedule.

#### Revocation

7. The Borough of Copeland (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1978 is hereby revoked.

Signed by authority of the Secretary of State

Hilary Armstrong Minister of State, Department of the Environment, Transport and the Regions

16th October 1998