**Status:** This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

## EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order gives effect to recommendations by the Local Government Commission for England for electoral changes in the district of Bath and North East Somerset.

Article 2 abolishes all of the existing wards of the district and provides for the creation of 37 new wards. That article and the Schedule also make provision for the names and areas of, and numbers of councillors for, the new wards.

Articles 3 and 4 make electoral changes in the towns of Keynsham and Norton-Radstock, respectively.

Article 5 specifies the number of councillors to be elected for the parish of Englishcombe.

Article 6 revokes the City of Bath (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1975, the District of Wansbeck (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1975 and part of the Avon (Structural Change) Order 1995.

The areas of the new district and parish wards are demarcated on the map described in article 1(3). Prints of the map may be inspected at all reasonable times at the offices of Bath and North East Somerset District Council and at the offices of the Secretary of State for the Environment, Transport and the Regions which are located at 2nd Floor, Ashdown House, 123 Victoria Street, London SW1E 6DE.