#### STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

### 1998 No. 3137

## LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND AND WALES

#### WALES

# The County Borough of Conwy (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1998

Made - - - 23rd November 1998

Coming into force in accordance with article 1(2)

The Secretary of State for Wales, in exercise of his powers under sections 58(2) and 67(4) of the Local Government Act 1972(1) and of all other powers enabling him in that behalf, hereby makes the following Order which gives effect to proposals submitted to him in June 1997 under sections 58(1) and 64 of that Act(2) by the Local Government Boundary Commission for Wales:

#### Citation and commencement

- **1.**—(1) This Order may be cited as the County Borough of Conwy (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1998.
- (2) This Order shall come into operation on 6th May 1999 except that for the purposes of all proceedings preliminary or relating to an election to be held on or after that day, it shall come into force immediately.

#### **Electoral divisions**

- 2.—(1) The existing electoral divisions of the County Borough of Conwy shall be abolished and the County Borough shall be divided into 38 electoral divisions which shall bear the names set out in column (1) of the Schedule to this Order, and each such electoral division shall comprise the area specified opposite thereto in column (2) of that Schedule.
- (2) The number of councillors to be returned for each such electoral division shall be the number specified opposite thereto in column (3) of the Schedule to this Order.

<sup>(1) 1972</sup> c. 70. Section 67(5) was amended by section 40(1) and (5) of the Police and Magistrates' Courts Act 1994 (c. 29), article 3(a) of the Government Act (References to Aldermen) Order 1977, S.I.1977/1710 and section 66(5) and (8) of, Schedule 15, paragraphs 1 and 15, and Schedule 18 to, the Local Government (Wales) Act 1994 (c. 19).

<sup>(2)</sup> Section 58(1) was amended by section 66(5) of, and Schedule 15, paragraphs 1 and 11 to, the Local Government (Wales) Act 1994. Section 64 was substituted by section 6 to that Act of 1994.

#### Register of local government electors

**3.** The registration officer shall make such re-arrangement or adaptation of the register of local government electors as may be necessary on account of the coming into force of this Order.

Signed by authority of the Secretary of State for Wales

Jon Owen Jones
Parliamentary Under Secretary of State, Welsh
Office

23rd November 1998

#### SCHEDULE Article 2

# NAMES AND AREAS OF AND NUMBERS OF COUNCILLORS FOR NEW ELECTORAL DIVISIONS

(1) Name of New Electoral Division	(2) Area of New Electoral Division	(3) Number of Councillors
Abergele Pensarn	The Pensarn ward of the Community of Abergele	1
Betws-y-Coed	The Communities of Betws- y-Coed, Capel Curig and Dolwyddelan	1
Betws yn Rhos	The Communities of Betws yn Rhos and Llanfair Talhaiarn	1
Bryn	The Bryn and Lafan wards of the Community of Llanfairfechan	1
Caerhun	The Communities of Caerhun and Henryd	1
Capelulo	The Capelulo ward of the Community of Panmaenmawr	1
Colwyn	That part of the Community of Old Colwyn bounded by a line commencing on the Community boundary at Grid Reference SH87647701, thence westwards and northwestwards along an unnamed stream to the point where it meets the south side of Peulwys Lane at Grid Reference SH87037740, thence northwestwards in a straight line to rejoin the stream at Grid Reference SH87007742, thence northwards along the stream to the point where it meets the south side of Abergele Road at Grid Reference SH86767830, thence northwards in a straight line across Abergele Road to Grid Reference SH86767831, thence between Nos. 361 and 363 Abergele Road to rejoin the stream, thence northeastwards along the stream to the point where it	2

(1)	(2)	(3)
Name of New Electoral Division	Area of New Electoral Division	Number of Councillors
	meets the south side of the road named Cliff Gardens at Grid Reference SH86997863, thence in a straight line across that road to rejoin the stream at Grid Reference SH87007864, thence northwards along the stream to the point where it meets the viaduct at Grid Reference SH87007867, thence due northwards to the low water mark, thence eastwards along the low water mark to the boundary of the Community of Old Colwyn, thence generally southwards and westwards along the Community boundary at the point of commencement.	
Conwy	The Aberconwy and Castle wards of the Community of Conwy	2
Craig-y-Don	The Craig-y-Don ward of the Community of Llandudno	2
Crwst	The Crwst ward of the Community of Llanrwst	1
Deganwy	The deganwy ward of the Community of Conwy	2
Eglwysbach	The Communities of Eglwysbach and Llanddoged and maenan	1
Eirias	That part of the Community of Old Colwyn not contained in the Colwyn electoral division	2
Gele	The Gele and St. George wards of the Community of Abergele	3
Glyn	That part of the Community of Colwyn Bay bounded by a line commencing on the Community boundary at the point on the Nant y Groes stream at Grid Reference SH84267670, thence northeastwards along that stream to the point where it meets the road	2

(1)	(2)	(3)
Name of New Electoral	Area of New Electoral	Number of Councillors
Division	Division	
	named Old Highway at Grid	
	Reference SH85427825,	
	thence westwards along Old	
	Highway to its junction with	
	the road named Woodland	
	Park, thence northwards	
	along Woodland Park and	
	Woodland Road East to	
	the junction with Abergele	
	Road, thence northwestwards	
	along Abergele Road to its	
	junction with Station Road,	
	thence northeastwards along Station Road to the centre	
	of the island where Princes	
	Drive, Station Road, Sea View Road and Victoria Avenue	
	converge at Grid Reference	
	SH85037910, thence eastwards	
	along Victoria Avenue to	
	Grid Reference SH85197905,	
	thence northeastwards along	
	the unnamed road running	
	beneath the railway, thence	
	continuing along Victoria	
	Pier and in prolongation	
	thereof to the low water mark,	
	thence southeastwards along	
	the low water mark to the	
	boundary of the Community of	
	Colwyn Bay, thence generally	
	southwards, westwards,	
	southwards and westwards	
	along the Community	
	boundary to the point of	
	commencement.	
Gogarth	The Gogarth ward of the	2
	Community of Llandudno	
Gower	The Gower ward of the	1
GO W CI	Community of Llanrwst	
	•	_
Kinmel Bay	The Kinmel Bay ward of the	3
	Community of Kinmel Bay	
	and Towyn	
Llanddulas	The Community of Llanddulas	1
	and Rhyd-y-Foel	
T 1 1'11		4
Llandrillo yn Rhos	The Community of Rhos-on-	4
	Sea	
	5	

(1) Name of New Electoral Division	(2) Area of New Electoral Division	(3) Number of Councillors
Llangernyw	The Communities of Llangernyw and Pentrefoelas	1
Llansanffraid	The Community of Llansanffraid Glan Conwy	1
Llansannan	The Communities of Llansannan and Llannefydd	1
Llysfaen	The Community of Llysfaen	1
Marl	The Marl ward of the Community of Conwy	2
Mochdre	The Community of Mochdre	1
Mostyn	The Mostyn ward of the Community of Llandudno	2
Pandy	The Pandy ward of the Community of Llanfairfechan	1
Pant-yr-afon/Penmaenan	The Pant-yr-afon and Penmaenan wards of the Community of Penmaenmawr	1
Penrhyn	The Penrhyn ward of the Community of Llandudno	2
Pensarn	The Pensarn ward of the Community of Conwy	1
Pentre mawr	The Pentre Mawr ward of the Community of Abergele	2
Rhiw	That part of the Community of Colwyn Bay not contained in the Glyn electoral division	3
Towyn	The Towyn ward of the Community of Kinmel Bay and Towyn	1
Trefriw	The Communities of Dolgarrog and Trefriw	1
Tudno	The Tudno ward of the Community of Llandudno	2
Uwch Conwy	The Communities of Bro Machno, Bro Garmon and Ysbyty Ifan	1
Uwchaled	The Communities of Cerrigydrudion, Llanfihangel Glyn Myfyr and Llangwm	1

Document Generated: 2024-06-19

**Status:** This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.