STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

1998 No. 3187

PROBATION

The Combined Probation Areas (Kent) Order 1998

Made - - - - 16th December 1998

Coming into force in accordance with article 1(2)

The Secretary of State, in exercise of the powers conferred upon him by section 2 of the Probation Services Act 1993(1), and after the consultation required by that section, hereby makes the following Order:

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Combined Probation Areas (Kent) Order 1998.
- (2) This Order shall come into force on 1st January 1999 save that, for the purposes of making appointments to the probation committee for Kent to take effect on that date, this Order shall come into force forthwith.
- 2. For that part of Schedule 2 to the Combined Probation Areas Order 1986(2) which relates to the Kent Area(3), there shall be substituted the following—

(1)	(2)	(3)
Petty Sessions Area	Probation Area	Number of Justices on Probation Committee
Canterbury & St. Augustine	Kent	1
Channel		2
Dartford		1
Faversham & Sittingbourne		1
Gravesham		1
Medway		2
Mid Kent		2
Thanet		1
West Kent		2

^{(1) 1993} c. 47

⁽²⁾ S.I. 1986/1713, amended by S.I. 1992/2121 (which is amended by S.I. 1993/92) and 1993/716.

⁽³⁾ The part relating to Kent was amended by S.I. 1988/2230 and 1993/3142.

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

Home Office 16th December 1998 Gareth Williams
Minister of State

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order amends the Combined Probation Areas Order 1986 (S.I.1986/1713) to take account of the abolition of the petty sessional divisions of Ashford & Tenterden, Dover & East Kent, Folkestone & Hythe, Maidstone, Tonbridge & Malling, Tunbridge Wells & Cranbrook and Sevenoaks and the creation of the new petty sessional divisions of Channel, Mid Kent and West Kent. The changes to the petty sessional divisions in question are effected by the Petty Sessional Divisions (Kent) Order 1998 (S.I. 1998/2007) which will come into force, subject to certain exceptions on 1st January 1999.