#### STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

### 1999 No. 2474

### LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND

# The Borough of Epsom and Ewell (Electoral Changes) Order 1999

*Made - - - 6th September 1999* 

Coming into force in accordance with article 1(2)

Whereas the Local Government Commission for England, acting pursuant to section 15(4) of the Local Government Act 1992(1), has submitted to the Secretary of State a report dated September 1998 on its review of the borough(2) of Epsom and Ewell together with its recommendations:

And whereas the Secretary of State has decided to give effect to those recommendations:

Now, therefore, the Secretary of State, in exercise of the powers conferred on him by sections 17(3) and 26 of the Local Government Act 1992, and of all other powers enabling him in that behalf, hereby makes the following Order:

#### Citation, commencement and interpretation

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Borough of Epsom and Ewell (Electoral Changes) Order 1999.
  - (2) This Order shall come into force—
    - (a) for the purposes of all proceedings preliminary or relating to any election to be held on 1st May 2003, on 10th October 2002;
    - (b) for all other purposes, on 1st May 2003.
  - (3) In this Order-

"the borough" means the borough of Epsom and Ewell;

"existing", in relation to a ward, means the ward as it exists on the date this Order is made; and any reference to the map is a reference to the map prepared by the Department of the Environment, Transport and the Regions marked "Map of the Borough of Epsom and Ewell (Electoral Changes) Order 1999", and deposited in accordance with regulation 27 of the Local Government Changes for England Regulations 1994(4).

<sup>(1) 1992</sup> c. 19.

<sup>(2)</sup> The non-metropolitan district of Epsom and Ewell has the status of a borough.

<sup>(3)</sup> Section 17 is amended by section 39(4) and (5) of the Police and Magistrates' Courts Act 1994 (c. 29).

<sup>(4)</sup> S.I.1994/867, to which there are amendments not relevant to this Order.

#### Wards of Epsom and Ewell

- **2.**—(1) The existing wards of the borough(**5**) shall be abolished.
- (2) The borough shall be divided into thirteen wards which shall bear the names set out in column (1) of the Schedule.
- (3) The wards shall comprise the areas designated on the map by reference to the name of the ward and demarcated by red lines; and the number of councillors to be elected for each ward shall be the number specified in respect of the ward in column (2) of the Schedule.
- (4) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, waterway or similar geographical feature, it shall be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

#### Revocation

3. The Borough of Epsom and Ewell (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1975 is hereby revoked.

Signed by authority of the Secretary of State for the Environment, Transport and the Regions

Beverley Hughes
Parliamentary Under Secretary of State,
Department of the Environment, Transport and
the Regions

6th September 1999

## SCHEDULE Article 2 NAMES OF WARDS AND NUMBERS OF COUNCILLORS

(1)	(2)
Name of ward	Number of councillors
Auriol	2
College	3
Court	3
Cuddington	3
Ewell	3
Ewell Court	3
Nonsuch	3
Ruxley	3
Stamford	3
Stoneleigh	3
Town	3
West Ewell	3
Woodcote	3

#### **EXPLANATORY NOTE**

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order gives effect to recommendations by the Local Government Commission for England for electoral changes in the borough of Epsom and Ewell. The changes have effect in relation to local government elections to be held on and after 1st May 2003.

Article 2 abolishes the existing wards of the borough and provides for the creation of 13 new wards. That article and the Schedule also make provision for the names of, and numbers of councillors for, the new wards.

Article 3 revokes the Borough of Epsom and Ewell (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1975.

The areas of the new borough wards are demarcated on the map described in article 1(3). Prints of the map may be inspected at all reasonable times at the offices of the Epsom and Ewell Borough Council and at the offices of the Secretary of State for the Environment, Transport and the Regions, 2nd Floor, Ashdown House, 123 Victoria Street, London SW1E 6DE.