#### STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

### 1999 No. 2579

## LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND

The City of Durham (Electoral Changes) Order 1999

*Made - - - - 7th September 1999* 

Coming into force in accordance with article 1(2)

Whereas the Local Government Commission for England, acting pursuant to section 15(4) of the Local Government Act 1992(1), has submitted to the Secretary of State a report dated October 1998 on its review of the city of Durham(2) together with its recommendations:

And whereas the Secretary of State has decided to give effect to those recommendations:

Now, therefore, the Secretary of State, in exercise of the powers conferred on him by sections 17(3) and 26 of the Local Government Act 1992, and of all other powers enabling him in that behalf, hereby makes the following Order:

#### Citation, commencement and interpretation

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the City of Durham (Electoral Changes) Order 1999.
- (2) This Order shall come into force—
  - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to elections to be held on 1st May 2003, on 10th October 2002;
  - (b) for all other purposes, on 1st May 2003.
- (3) In this Order-

"city" means the city of Durham;

"existing", in relation to a ward, means the ward as it exists on the date this Order is made;

any reference to the map is a reference to the map prepared by the Department of the Environment, Transport and the Regions marked "Map of the City of Durham (Electoral Changes) Order 1999", and deposited in accordance with regulation 27 of the Local Government Changes for England Regulations 1994(4); and

any reference to a numbered sheet is a reference to the sheet of the map which bears that number.

<sup>(1) 1992</sup> c. 19.

<sup>(2)</sup> The non-metropolitan district of Durham has the status of a city.

<sup>(3)</sup> Section 17 is amended by section 39(4) and (5) of the Police and Magistrates' Courts Act 1994 (c. 29).

<sup>(4)</sup> S.I.1994/867, to which there are amendments not relevant to this Order.

#### Wards of Durham

- **2.**—(1) The existing wards of the city(5) shall be abolished.
- (2) The city shall be divided into twenty wards which shall bear the names set out in column (1) of the Schedule.
- (3) The wards shall comprise the areas described in column (2) of the Schedule by reference to parishes, or to parishes and parish wards or, where no area is so described, the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the ward and demarcated by red lines; and the number of councillors to be elected for each ward shall be the number specified in respect of the ward in column (3) of the Schedule.
- (4) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, waterway or similar geographical feature, it shall be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

#### Wards of the parish of Belmont

- **3.**—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Belmont shall be abolished.
- (2) The parish shall be divided into three parish wards which shall bear the names Belmont, Carrville and Gilesgate Moor; and the wards shall comprise the areas designated on sheet 2 by reference to the name of the ward and demarcated by orange lines.
  - (3) The number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward shall be five.

#### Revocation

**4.** The City of Durham (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1978 is hereby revoked.

Signed by authority of the Secretary of State for the Environment, Transport and the Regions

Beverley Hughes
Parliamentary Under Secretary of State,
Department of the Environment, Transport and
the Regions

7th September 1999

# SCHEDULE Article 2 NAMES AND AREAS OF WARDS AND NUMBERS OF COUNCILLORS

(1)	(2)	(3)
Name of Ward	Area of Ward	Number of Councillors
Bearpark and Witton Gilbert	The parishes of Bearpark and Witton Gilbert	3
Belmont		2
Brancepeth, Langley Moor and Meadowfield	The parish of Brancepeth and the parish wards of East and South of the parish of Brandon & Byshottles	2
Brandon	The parish ward of Central of the parish of Brandon & Byshottles	3
Carrville and Gilesgate Moor		3
Cassop-cum-Quarrington	The parishes of Cassop-cum- Quarrington and Croxdale & Hett	3
Coxhoe	The parishes of Coxhoe and Kelloe	3
Crossgate and Framwelgate		3
Deerness	The parish ward of West of the parish of Brandon & Byshottles	2
Elvet		3
Framwellgate Moor		3
Neville's Cross		2
New Brancepeth and Ushaw Moor	The parish wards of North and Ushaw Moor of the parish of Brandon & Byshottles	3
Newton Hall North		2
Newton Hall South		2
Pelaw and Gilesgate		3
Pittington and West Rainton	The parishes of Pittington and West Rainton	2
St Nicholas		2
Shadforth and Sherburn	The parish of Sherburn and the parish wards of Ludworth, Shadforth and Sherburn Hill of the parish of Shadforth	3
Shincliffe	The parish of Shincliffe	1

#### **EXPLANATORY NOTE**

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order gives effect to recommendations by the Local Government Commission for England for electoral changes in the City of Durham. The changes have effect in relation to local government elections to be held on and after 1st May 2003.

Article 2 abolishes all of the existing wards of the city and provides for the creation of 20 new wards. That article and the Schedule also make provision for the names and areas of, and numbers of councillors for, the new wards.

Article 3 makes electoral changes in the parish of Belmont.

Article 4 revokes the City of Durham (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1978.

The areas of the new city and parish wards are demarcated on the map described in article 1(3). Prints of the map may be inspected at all reasonable times at the offices of Durham City Council and at the offices of the Secretary of State for the Environment, Transport and the Regions, 2nd Floor, Ashdown House, 123 Victoria Street, London SW1E 6DE.