STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

1999 No. 2693

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND

The District of Derbyshire Dales (Electoral Changes) Order 1999

Made - - - - 27th September 1999

Coming into force in accordance with article 1(2)

Whereas the Local Government Commission for England, acting pursuant to section 15(4) of the Local Government Act 1992(1), has submitted to the Secretary of State a report dated November 1998 on its review of the district of Derbyshire Dales together with its recommendations:

And whereas the Secretary of State has decided to give effect to those recommendations:

Now, therefore, the Secretary of State, in exercise of the powers conferred on him by sections 17(2) and 26 of the Local Government Act 1992, and of all other powers enabling him in that behalf, hereby makes the following Order:

Citation, commencement and interpretation

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the District of Derbyshire Dales (Electoral Changes) Order 1999.
 - (2) This Order shall come into force—
 - (a) for the purposes of proceedings preliminary or relating to any election to be held on 1st May 2003, on 10th October 2002;
 - (b) for all other purposes, on 1st May 2003.
 - (3) In this Order—

"district" means the district of Derbyshire Dales;

"existing", in relation to a ward, means the ward as it exists on the date this Order is made; any reference to the map is a reference to the map prepared by the Department of the Environment, Transport and the Regions marked "Map of the District of Derbyshire Dales (Electoral Changes) Order 1999", and deposited in accordance with regulation 27 of the Local Government Changes for England Regulations 1994(3); and

^{(1) 1992} c. 19.

⁽²⁾ Section 17 is amended by section 39(4) and (5) of the Police and Magistrates' Courts Act 1994 (c. 29).

⁽³⁾ S.I.1994/867, to which there are amendments not relevant to this Order.

any reference to a numbered sheet is a reference to the sheet of the map which bears that number.

Wards of Derbyshire Dales

- **2.**—(1) The existing wards of the district(4) shall be abolished.
- (2) The district shall be divided into twenty-five wards which shall bear the names set out in column (1) of the Schedule.
- (3) The wards shall comprise the areas described in column (2) of the Schedule by reference to parishes, or parish wards, or parishes and parish wards or, where no area is so described, the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the ward and demarcated by red lines; and the number of councillors to be elected for each ward shall be the number specified in respect of the ward in column (3) of the Schedule.
- (4) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, waterway or similar geographical feature, it shall be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

Wards of the town of Ashbourne

- **3.**—(1) The town of Ashbourne shall be divided into four town wards which shall bear the names Belle Vue, Hilltop, Parkside and St Oswalds; and the wards shall comprise the areas designated on sheet 2 by reference to the names of the wards and demarcated by orange lines.
- (2) The number of councillors to be elected for the Hilltop town ward shall be four and for each of the Belle Vue, Parkside and St Oswalds town wards shall be three.

Revocation

4. The District of West Derbyshire (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1977 is hereby revoked.

Signed by authority of the Secretary of State for the Environment, Transport and the Regions

Beverley Hughes,
Parliamentary Under Secretary of State,
Department of the Environment, Transport and
the Regions

27th September 1999

SCHEDULE Article 2

NAMES AND AREAS OF WARDS AND NUMBERS OF COUNCILLORS

(1) Name of ward	(2) Description of area	(3) Number ofCouncillors
Ashbourne North	The American Paris of the Paris	2
Ashbourne South		2
Bakewell	The parishes of Ashford in the Water, Bakewell, Nether Haddon, Over Haddon and Sheldon	3
Bradwell	The parishes of Bradwell, Foolow, Great Hucklow, Grindlow, Hazelbadge and Little Hucklow	1
Brailsford	The parishes of Brailsford, Hollington, Longford and Mercaston	1
Calver	The parishes of Calver, Curbar, Froggatt and Stoney Middleton	1
Carsington Water	The parishes of Aldwark, Atlow, Ballidon, Bradbourne, Brassington, Carsington, Hognaston, Hopton, Ible, Ivonbrook Grange and Kniveton	1
Chatsworth	The parishes of Baslow and Bubnell, Beeley, Chatsworth, Edensor and Pilsley	1
Clifton and Bradley	The parishes of Bradley, Clifton and Compton, Edlaston and Wyaston, Osmaston, Shirley, Snelston and Yeldersley	1
Darley Dale	The parish of Darley Dale	3
Dovedale and Parwich	The parishes of Eaton and Alsop, Fenny Bentley, Hartington Nether Quarter, Lea Hall, Mappleton, Newton Grange, Parwich, Tissington and Thorpe	1
Doveridge and Sudbury	The parishes of Doveridge and Sudbury	1
Hartington and Taddington	The parishes of Blackwell in the Peak, Brushfield,	1

(1)	(2)	(2)
(1) Name of ward	(2) Description of area	(3) Number ofCouncillors
Traine of ward	Chelmorton, Flagg, Hartington Middle Quarter, Hartington Town Quarter and Taddington	Tranoer of Councillors
Hathersage and Eyam	The parishes of Abney and Abney Grange, Eyam, Grindleford, Hathersage, Highlow, Offerton and Outseats	2
Hulland	The parishes of Biggin by Hulland, Callow, Hulland, Hulland Ward and Kirk Ireton	1
Lathkill and Bradford	The parishes of Harthill, Middleton and Smerrill, Monyash and Youlgreave	1
Litton and Longstone	The parishes of Great Longstone, Hassop, Little Longstone, Litton, Rowland and Wardlow	1
Masson	The parishes of Bonsall, Cromford and Matlock Bath	2
Matlock All Saints	The parish wards of Dimple Road East, Dimple Road West and South of the River, and North of Jackson Road of the parish of Matlock	3
Matlock St Giles	The parish of Tansley and the parish wards of Chesterfield Road East, Hurst Farm Road, Matlock Green and Starkholmes and Riber of the parish of Matlock	3
Norbury	The parishes of Alkmonton, Boylestone, Cubley, Hungry Bentley, Marston Montgomery, Norbury and Roston, Rodsley, Somersal Herbert and Yeaveley	1
Stanton	The parishes of Birchover, Northwood and Tinkersley, Rowsley and Stanton in Peak	1
Tideswell	The parishes of Tideswell and Wheston	1
Winster and SouthDarley	The parishes of Elton, Gratton, South Darley and Winster	1

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

(1)	(2)	(3)
Name of ward	Description of area	Number of Councillors
Wirksworth	The parishes of Middleton and Wirksworth	3

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order gives effect to recommendations by the Local Government Commission for England for electoral changes in the district of Derbyshire Dales. The changes have effect in relation to local government elections to be held on and after 1st May 2003.

Article 2 abolishes all of the existing wards of the district and provides for the creation of 25 new wards. That article and the Schedule also make provision for the names and areas of, and numbers of councillors for, the new wards.

Article 3 makes electoral changes in the town of Ashbourne.

Article 4 revokes the District of West Derbyshire (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1977.

The areas of the new district and parish wards are demarcated on the map described in article 1(3). Prints of the map may be inspected at all reasonable times at the offices of Derbyshire Dales District Council and at the offices of the Secretary of State for the Environment, Transport and the Regions, 2nd Floor, Ashdown House, 123 Victoria Street, London SW1E 6DE.