STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

# 1999 No. 2694

## The Borough of Erewash (Electoral Changes) Order 1999

#### Citation, commencement and interpretation

1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Borough of Erewash (Electoral Changes) Order 1999.

- (2) This Order shall come into force—
  - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to any election to be held on 1st May 2003, on 10th October 2002;
  - (b) for all other purposes, on 1st May 2003.
- (3) In this Order—

"borough" means the borough of Erewash;

"existing", in relation to a ward, means the ward as it exists on the date this Order is made;

any reference to the map is a reference to the map prepared by the Department of the Environment, Transport and the Regions marked "Map of the Borough of Erewash (Electoral Changes) Order 1999", and deposited in accordance with regulation 27 of the Local Government Changes for England Regulations 1994(1); and

any reference to a numbered sheet is a reference to the sheet of the map which bears that number.

## Wards of Erewash

**2.**—(1) The existing wards of the borough(**2**) shall be abolished.

(2) The borough shall be divided into twenty-two wards which shall bear the names set out in column (1) of the Schedule.

(3) The wards shall comprise the areas described in column (2) of the Schedule by reference to parishes, or parish wards, or parishes and parish wards or, where no area is so described, the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the ward and demarcated by red lines; and the number of councillors to be elected for each ward shall be the number specified in respect of the ward in column (3) of the Schedule.

(4) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, waterway or similar geographical feature, it shall be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

#### Wards of the parish of Ockbrook and Borrowash

**3.**—(1) The parish of Ockbrook and Borrowash shall be divided into three wards which shall bear the names Borrowash East, Borrowash West and Ockbrook; and the wards shall comprise the areas designated on sheet 3 by reference to the names of the wards and demarcated by orange lines.

<sup>(1)</sup> S.I.1994/867, to which there are amendments not relevant to this Order.

<sup>(2)</sup> See the Borough of Erewash (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1978 (S.I. 1978/1299).

(2) The number of councillors to be elected for each of the Borrowash East and Borrowash West parish wards shall be four and for the Ockbrook parish ward shall be three.

## Revocation

4. The Borough of Erewash (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1978 is hereby revoked.

Signed by authority of the Secretary of State for the Environment, Transport and the Regions.

Beverley Hughes Parliamentary Under Secretary of State, Department of the Environment, Transport and the Regions

27th September 1999