STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

1999 No. 2695

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND

The Borough of High Peak (Electoral Changes) Order 1999

Made - - - - 27th September 1999

Coming into force in accordance with article 1(2)

Whereas the Local Government Commission for England, acting pursuant to section 15(4) of the Local Government Act 1992(1), has submitted to the Secretary of State a report dated November 1998 on its review of the borough(2) of High Peak together with its recommendations:

And whereas the Secretary of State has decided to give effect, with one modification, to those recommendations:

Now, therefore, the Secretary of State, in exercise of the powers conferred on him by sections 17(3) and 26 of the Local Government Act 1992, and of all other powers enabling him in that behalf, hereby makes the following Order:

Citation, commencement and interpretation

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Borough of High Peak (Electoral Changes) Order 1999.
- (2) This Order shall come into force—
 - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to any election to be held on 1st May 2003, on 10th October 2002;
 - (b) for all other purposes, on 1st May 2003.
- (3) In this Order—

"borough" means the borough of High Peak;

"existing", in relation to a ward, means the ward as it exists on the date this Order is made;

any reference to the map is a reference to the map prepared by the Department of the Environment, Transport and the Regions marked "Map of the Borough of High Peak (Electoral Changes) Order 1999", and deposited in accordance with regulation 27 of the Local Government Changes for England Regulations 1994(4); and

any reference to a numbered sheet is a reference to a sheet of the map which bears that number.

^{(1) 1992} c. 19.

⁽²⁾ The non-metropolitan district of High Peak has the status of a borough.

⁽³⁾ Section 17 is amended by section 39(4) and (5) of the Police and Magistrates' Courts Act 1994 (c. 29).

⁽⁴⁾ S.I.1994/867, to which there are amendments not relevant to this Order.

Wards of High Peak

- **2.**—(1) The existing wards of the borough(**5**) shall be abolished.
- (2) The borough shall be divided into twenty-eight wards which shall bear the names set out in column (1) of the Schedule.
- (3) The wards shall comprise the areas described in column (2) of the Schedule by reference to parishes or, where no area is so described, the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the ward and demarcated by red lines; and the number of councillors to be elected for each ward shall be the number specified in respect of the ward in column (3) of the Schedule.
- (4) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, waterway or similar geographical feature, it shall be treated as running along the centre line of the feature

Wards of the parish of Chapel-en-le-Frith

- **3.**—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Chapel-en-le-Frith shall be abolished.
- (2) The parish shall be divided into four wards which shall bear the names—

Barren Clough, Combs and Whitehough,

Chapel East,

Chapel West and

Dove Holes and Martinside;

and the wards shall comprise the areas designated on sheets 7 and 8 by reference to the names of the wards and demarcated by orange lines.

(3) The number of councillors to be elected for the Chapel West ward shall be six, for the Chapel East ward three, and for each of the Barren Clough, Combs and Whitehough and Dove Holes and Martinside wards, two.

Wards of the parish of Charlesworth

- **4.**—(1) The parish shall be divided into two wards which shall bear the names St John's and Simmondley; and the wards shall comprise the areas designated on sheets 9 and 10 by reference to the names of the wards and demarcated by orange lines.
- (2) The number of councillors to be elected for the St John's parish ward shall be six and for the Simmondley parish ward shall be three.

Wards of the parish of Hayfield

- **5.**—(1) The parish shall be divided into two wards which shall bear the names Hayfield Town and Hayfield West; and the wards shall comprise the areas designated on sheet 11 by reference to the names of the wards and demarcated by orange lines.
- (2) The number of councillors to be elected for the Hayfield Town parish ward shall be eight and for the Hayfield West parish ward shall be two.

Wards of the parish of New Mills

6.—(1) The existing wards of the parish of New Mills shall be abolished.

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

- (2) The parish shall be divided into three wards which shall bear the names Ollersett, Thornsett and Whitle; and the wards shall comprise the areas designated on sheet 12 by reference to the names of the wards and demarcated by orange lines.
- (3) The number of councillors to be elected for each of the Ollersett and Whitle parish wards shall be five and for the Thornsett parish ward shall be two.

Revocation

7. The Borough of High Peak (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1977 is hereby revoked.

Signed by authority of the Secretary of State for the Environment, Transport and the Regions.

Beverley Hughes
Parliamentary Under Secretary of State,
Department of the Environment, Transport and
the Regions

27th September 1999

SCHEDULE Article 2

NAMES AND AREAS OF WARDS AND NUMBERS OF COUNCILLORS

(1)	(2)	(3)
Name of ward	Description of area	Number of councillors
Barms		1
Blackbrook		2
Burbage		1
Buxton Central		2
Chapel East		1
Chapel West		2
Corbar		2
Cote Heath		2
Dinting		1
Gamesley		1
Hadfield North		1
Hadfield South		2
Hayfield		1
Hope Valley	The parishes of Aston, Bamford, Brough and Shatton, Castleton, Derwent, Edale, Hope, Hope Woodlands, Peak Forest and Thornhill	2
Howard Town		2
Limestone Peak		1
New Mills East		2
New Mills West		2
Old Glossop		2
Padfield		1
St John's		1
Sett		1
Simmondley		2
Stone Bench		2
Temple		1
Tintwistle		1
Whaley Bridge	The parish of Whaley Bridge	3
Whitfield		1

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order gives effect, subject to a modification, to recommendations by the Local Government Commission for England for electoral changes in the borough of High Peak. The changes have effect in relation to local government elections to be held on and after 1st May 2003. The modification relates to the number of councillors to be elected for the wards of the parish of New Mills.

Article 2 abolishes all of the existing wards of the borough and provides for the creation of 28 new wards. That article and the Schedule also make provision for the names and areas of, and numbers of councillors for, the new wards.

Articles 3 to 6 make electoral changes in the parishes of Chapel-en-le-Frith, Charlesworth, Hayfield and New Mills.

Article 7 revokes the Borough of High Peak (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1977.

The areas of the new borough and parish wards are demarcated on the map described in article 1(3). Prints of the map may be inspected at all reasonable times at the offices of High Peak Borough Council and at the offices of the Secretary of State for the Environment, Transport and the Regions, 2nd Floor, Ashdown House, 123 Victoria Street, London SW1E 6DE.