STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2000 No. 1675

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND

The Borough of North Warwickshire (Electoral Changes) Order 2000

Made - - - 23rd June 2000 Coming into force in accordance with article 1(2)

Whereas the Local Government Commission for England, acting pursuant to section 15(4) of the Local Government Act 1992(1), has submitted to the Secretary of State a report dated November 1999 on its review of the borough(2) of North Warwickshire together with its recommendations:

And whereas the Secretary of State has decided to give effect to those recommendations:

Now, therefore, the Secretary of State, in exercise of the powers conferred on him by sections 17(3) and 26 of the Local Government Act 1992, and of all other powers enabling him in that behalf, hereby makes the following Order:

Citation, commencement and interpretation

1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Borough of North Warwickshire (Electoral Changes) Order 2000.

- (2) This Order shall come into force—
 - (a) for the purposes of proceedings preliminary or relating to any election to be held on 1st May 2003, on 10th October 2002;
 - (b) for all other purposes, on 1st May 2003.
- (3) In this Order—

"borough" means the borough of North Warwickshire;

"existing", in relation to a ward, means the ward as it exists on the date this Order is made;

any reference to the map is a reference to the map prepared by the Department of the Environment, Transport and the Regions marked "Map of the Borough of North Warwickshire (Electoral Changes) Order 2000", and deposited in accordance with regulation 27 of the Local Government Changes for England Regulations 1994(4); and

^{(1) 1992} c. 19.

⁽²⁾ The non-metropolitan district of North Warwickshire has the status of a borough.

⁽³⁾ Section 17 is amended by section 39(4) and (5) of the Police and Magistrates' Courts Act 1994 (c. 29).

⁽⁴⁾ S.I.1994/867, to which there are amendments not relevant to this Order.

any reference to a numbered sheet is a reference to the sheet of the map which bears that number.

Wards of North Warwickshire

2.—(1) The existing wards of the borough(5) shall be abolished.

(2) The borough shall be divided into seventeen wards, which shall bear the names set out in column (1) of Schedule 1.

(3) The wards shall comprise the areas described in column (2) of that Schedule by reference to parishes or, where no area is so described, the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the ward and demarcated by red lines; and the number of councillors to be elected for each ward shall be the number specified in respect of the ward in column (3) of that Schedule.

(4) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it shall be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

Wards of the parish of Atherstone

3.—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Atherstone shall be abolished.

(2) The parish shall be divided into three parish wards, which shall bear the names set out in column (1) of Schedule 2; each parish ward shall comprise the area of the district ward specified in respect of the parish ward in column (2) of that Schedule; and the number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward shall be the number specified in respect of the parish ward in column (3) of that Schedule.

Wards of the parish of Coleshill

4.—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Coleshill shall be abolished.

(2) The parish shall be divided into two wards which shall bear the names Coleshill North and Coleshill South; and each parish ward shall comprise the area of the borough ward bearing the same name.

(3) The number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward shall be five.

Wards of the parish of Kingsbury

5.—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Kingsbury shall be abolished.

(2) The parish shall be divided into five parish wards which shall bear the names Hurley, Kingsbury Central, Kingsbury West, Piccadilly & Whateley and Wood End; and the wards shall comprise the areas designated on sheet 6 by reference to the name of the ward and demarcated by orange lines.

(3) The number of councillors to be elected for each of the parish wards of Kingsbury West and Piccadilly & Whateley shall be one, for each of the parish wards of Hurley and Wood End shall be two, and for the parish ward of Kingsbury Central shall be five.

Wards of the parish of Polesworth

6.—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Polesworth shall be abolished.

(2) The parish shall be divided into four parish wards which shall bear the names Birchmoor, Polesworth East, Polesworth West and Warton; and the wards shall comprise the areas designated on sheet 7 by reference to the name of the ward and demarcated by orange lines.

⁽⁵⁾ See the Borough of North Warwickshire (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1976 (S.I. 1976/1132).

(3) The number of councillors to be elected for the parish ward of Birchmoor shall be one, for each of the parish wards of Polesworth West and Warton shall be three, and for the parish ward of Polesworth East shall be four.

Revocation

7. The Borough of North Warwickshire (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1976 is hereby revoked.

Signed by authority of the Secretary of Statefor the Environment, Transport and the Regions

Beverley Hughes Parliamentary Under Secretary of State, Department of the Environment, Transport and the Regions

23rd June 2000

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

SCHEDULE 1

Article 2

NAMES AND AREAS OF WARDS AND NUMBERS OF COUNCILLORS

(1)	(2)	(3)
Name of Ward	Area of Ward	Number of Councillors
Arley and Whitacre	The parishes of Ansley, Arley and Over Whitacre	3
Atherstone Central		2
Atherstone North		2
Atherstone South and Mancetter		2
Baddesley and Grendon	The parishes of Baddesley Ensor, Baxterley, Bentley, Grendon and Merevale	2
Coleshill North		2
Coleshill South		2
Curdworth		2
Dordon	The parish of Dordon	2
Fillongley	The parishes of Astley, Corley, Fillongley, Great Packington, Little Packington, Maxstoke and Shustoke	2
Hartshill	The parishes of Caldecote and Hartshill	2
Hurley and Wood End		2
Kingsbury		2
Newton Regis and Warton		2
Polesworth East		2
Polesworth West		2
Water Orton	The parish of Water Orton	2

SCHEDULE 2

Article 3

WARDS OF THE PARISH OF ATHERSTONE: NAMES AND AREAS AND NUMBERS OF COUNCILLORS

(1)	(2)	(3)
Name of Ward	Area of Ward	Number of Councillors
Atherstone Central	The borough ward of Atherstone Central	6

(1)	(2)	(3)
Name of Ward	Area of Ward	Number of Councillors
Atherstone North	The borough ward of Atherstone North	6
Atherstone South	So much of the borough ward of Atherstone South and Mancetter as comprises the parish of Atherstone	3

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order gives effect to recommendations by the Local Government Commission for England for electoral changes in the borough of North Warwickshire. The changes have effect in relation to local government elections to be held on and after 1st May 2003.

Article 2 abolishes the existing wards of the borough and provides for the creation of seventeen new wards. That article and Schedule 1 also make provision for the names and areas of, and numbers of councillors for, the new wards.

Articles 3, 4, 5 and 6 make electoral changes in the parishes of Atherstone, Coleshill, Kingsbury and Polesworth.

Article 7 revokes the Borough of North Warwickshire (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1976.

The areas of the new borough and parish wards are demarcated on the map described in article 1(3). Prints of the map may be inspected at all reasonable times at the offices of the North Warwickshire Borough Council and at the offices of the Secretary of State for the Environment, Transport and the Regions, 2nd Floor, Ashdown House, 123 Victoria Street, London SW1E 6DE.