STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2001 No. 1446

The District of South Staffordshire (Electoral Changes) Order 2001

Citation, commencement and interpretation

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the District of South Staffordshire (Electoral Changes) Order 2001.
 - (2) This Order shall come into force—
 - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to any election to be held on 1st May 2003, on 10th October 2002;
 - (b) for all other purposes, on 1st May 2003.
 - (3) In this Order—
 - "district" means the district of South Staffordshire;
 - "existing", in relation to a ward, means the ward as it exists on the date this Order is made;

any reference to the map is a reference to the map prepared by the Department of the Environment, Transport and the Regions marked "Map of the District of South Staffordshire (Electoral Changes) Order 2001", and deposited in accordance with regulation 27 of the Local Government Changes for England Regulations 1994(1); and

any reference to a numbered sheet is a reference to the sheet of the map which bears that number.

Wards of the district of South Staffordshire

- **2.**—(1) The existing wards of the district(2) shall be abolished.
- (2) The district shall be divided into twenty-five wards which shall bear the names set out in column (1) of Schedule 1.
- (3) The wards shall comprise the areas described in column (2) of that Schedule by reference to parishes, parish wards or parishes and parish wards or, where an area is not so described, the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the ward and demarcated by red lines; and the number of councillors to be elected for each ward shall be the number specified in respect of the ward in column (3) of that Schedule.
- (4) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it shall be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

Wards of the parish of Bilbrook

3.—(1) The parish of Bilbrook shall be divided into three parish wards which shall bear the names East, Lane Green and West; and the wards shall comprise the areas designated on sheet 6 by reference to the name of the ward and demarcated by orange lines.

⁽¹⁾ S.I.1994/867, to which there are amendments not relevant to this Order.

⁽²⁾ See the District of South Staffordshire (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1989 (S.I. 1989/119).

(2) The number of councillors to be elected for the East parish ward shall be seven, for the West parish ward shall be five and for the Lane Green parish ward shall be one.

Wards of the parish of Cheslyn Hay

- **4.**—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Cheslyn Hay shall be abolished.
- (2) The parish shall be divided into three parish wards which shall bear the names Littlewood, Pinfold and South; and the wards shall comprise the areas designated on sheet 7 by reference to the name of the ward and demarcated by orange lines.
- (3) The number of councillors to be elected for the South parish ward shall be eight, for the Littlewood parish ward shall be five and for the Pinfold parish ward shall be two.

Wards of the parish of Codsall

- **5.**—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Codsall shall be abolished.
- (2) The parish shall be divided into two parish wards which shall bear the names set out in column (1) of Schedule 2; each parish ward shall comprise the area of the district ward specified in respect of the parish ward in column (2) of that Schedule; and the number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward shall be the number specified in respect of the parish ward in column (3) of that Schedule.

Wards of the parish of Great Wyrley

- **6.**—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Great Wyrley shall be abolished.
- (2) The parish shall be divided into three parish wards which shall bear the names Landywood, North and Town; and the wards shall comprise the areas designated on sheet 8 by reference to the name of the ward and demarcated by orange lines.
- (3) The number of councillors to be elected for the Town parish ward shall be seven, for the Landywood parish ward shall be six and for the North parish ward shall be two.

Wards of the parish of Kinver

- 7.—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Kinver shall be abolished.
- (2) The parish shall be divided into three parish wards which shall bear the names Dunsley, Potters Cross and Stourton; and the wards shall comprise the areas designated on sheets 9 and 10 by reference to the name of the ward and demarcated by orange lines.
- (3) The number of councillors to be elected for the Potters Cross parish ward shall be seven, and for each of the Dunsley and Stourton parish wards shall be four.

Wards of the parish of Perton

- **8.**—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Perton shall be abolished.
- (2) The parish shall be divided into four parish wards which shall bear the names Dippons, East, Lakeside, and Kingswood and Trescott; and the wards shall comprise the areas designated on sheet 11 by reference to the name of the ward and demarcated by orange lines.
- (3) The number of councillors to be elected for the Lakeside parish ward shall be nine, for the East parish ward shall be three, for the Dippons parish ward shall be two and for the Kingswood and Trescott parish ward shall be one.

Wards of the parish of Penkridge

- **9.**—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Penkridge shall be abolished.
- (2) The parish shall be divided into four parish wards which shall bear the names Gailey, North East, South East and West; and the wards shall comprise the areas designated on sheets 12 and 13 by reference to the name of the ward and demarcated by orange lines.
- (3) The number of councillors to be elected for the South East parish ward shall be six, for each of the North East and West parish wards shall be four, and for the Gailey parish ward shall be one.

Wards of the parish of Wombourne

- **10.**—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Wombourne shall be abolished.
- (2) The parish shall be divided into three parish wards which shall bear the names set out in column (1) of Schedule 3; each parish ward shall comprise the area of the district ward specified in respect of the parish ward in column (2) of that Schedule; and the number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward shall be the number specified in respect of the parish ward in column (3) of that Schedule.

Number of parish councillors

11. The number of parish councillors to be elected for the parish of Huntington shall be thirteen, of whom six shall be elected for the parish ward of Chase and seven for the parish ward of Littleton.

Revocation

12. The District of South Staffordshire (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1977(**3**) and the District of South Staffordshire (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1989 are hereby revoked.

Signed by authority of the Secretary of State for the Environment, Transport and the Regions

Beverley Hughes
Parliamentary Under Secretary of State,
Department of the Environment, Transport and
the Regions

10th April 2001