2001 No. 666

CORONERS

The Norfolk (Coroners' Districts) Order 2001

Made	1st March 2001
Laid before Parliament	9th March 2001
Coming into force	1st April 2001

Whereas the Council of the County of Norfolk have, in pursuance of section 4(2) of the Coroners Act 1988(1) and after due compliance with the provisions of the Coroners (Orders as to Districts) Rules 1927(2), submitted to the Secretary of State a draft Order providing for the alteration of the existing division of that county into coroners' districts;

Now, therefore, the Secretary of State, in exercise of the powers conferred on him by section 4(2) of that Act hereby makes the following Order:

1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Norfolk (Coroners' Districts) Order 2001.

(2) This Order shall come into force on 1st April 2001.

(3) This Order shall not have effect in relation to any inquest begun before the day on which it comes into force or to any post-mortem examination which, before that day, a coroner has directed or requested a medical practitioner to make.

2. The existing Norwich coroner's district (as constituted by the Norfolk Coroners' Districts) (Amendment) Order 1978(**3**)), Dereham coroner's district and Diss coroner's district shall be amalgamated to form a single coroner's district called the Norwich and Central Norfolk Coroner's District.

3. Accordingly, the County of Norfolk shall be divided into three coroners' districts and each such coroner's district shall consist of the area specified in column 2 of the Schedule to this Order opposite to the name of the coroner's district in question as given in column 1 of that Schedule.

4. The Norfolk (Coroners' Districts) Order 1974(**4**) and the Norfolk (Coroners' Districts) (Amendment) Order 1978 are hereby revoked.

(1) 1988 c. 13.

(**4**) S.I. 1974/410.

⁽²⁾ S.R. & O. 1927/343.

⁽**3**) S.I. 1978/1331.

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

Home Office 1st March 2001 Paul Boateng Minister of State

SCHEDULE

1	2
Name of coroner's district	Area comprised in coroner's district
Great Yarmouth	The Borough of Great Yarmouth
King's Lynn	The Borough of King's Lynn and West Norfolk
Norwich and Central Norfolk	The Districts of Breckland, Broadland, North Norfolk and South Norfolk and the City of Norwich

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

The County of Norfolk was divided into six coroners' districts by the Norfolk (Coroners' Districts) Order 1974. Two of these, Norwich City and Norwich (County), were amalgamated to form the Norwich Coroner's District by the Norfolk (Coroners' Districts) (Amendment) Order 1978.

This Order replaces the three coroners' districts of Norwich, Dereham and Diss by the district of Norwich and Central Norfolk (as substituted by the Schedule to this Order). The Schedule also sets out the remaining two coroners' districts into which the County of Norfolk is divided.

Article 3