STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2002 No. 1151

ATOMIC ENERGY AND RADIOACTIVE SUBSTANCES POLICE

The Atomic Energy Authority (Special Constables) Order 2002

Made	18th April 2002
Laid before Parliament	24th April 2002
Coming into force	24th May 2002

The Secretary of State, in exercise of the powers conferred by section 76(2) of the Anti-terrorism, Crime and Security Act 2001(1) ("the Act"), hereby makes the following Order:

Citation and commencement

1. This Order may be cited as the Atomic Energy Authority (Special Constables) Order 2002 and shall come into force on 24th May 2002.

Designation of nuclear sites

2. The following nuclear sites are designated as premises to which section 76(1) of the Act does not apply—

- (a) premises known as the Zero Energy Experimental Reactor (Neptune) at Moor Lane, Raynesway, Derby DE24 8BJ;
- (b) premises known as the Devonshire Dock Complex at Barrow-in-Furness, Cumbria, LA14 1AF;
- (c) premises known as the Nuclear Fuel Production Plant at Moor Lane, Raynesway, Derby, DE21 7XX;
- (d) premises known as Devonport Royal Dockyards at Devonport, Plymouth PL1 4SG;
- (e) premises known as the Atomic Weapons Establishment Aldermaston at Aldermaston, Berkshire RG7 4PR;
- (f) premises known as the Atomic Weapons Establishment Burghfield at Burghfield, Berkshire RG30 3RP;

(g) premises known as Rosyth Royal Dockyard at Rosyth, Fife KY11 2YD.

18th April 2002

Brian Wilson Minister of State for Industry and Energy Department of Trade and Industry

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order designates those licensed nuclear sites at which special constables appointed on the nomination of the United Kingdom Atomic Energy Authority are not to have the powers and privileges of constables.