STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2002 No. 990

NATIONAL HEALTH SERVICE, ENGLAND

The East Kent Coastal Primary Care Trust (Establishment) Order 2002

Made	-	-	-	-		25th March 2002
Coming	into	force		-	-	1st April 2002

The Secretary of State for Health, in the exercise of the powers conferred on him by sections 16A(1), (2) and (3) and 126(4) of, and paragraph 1 of Schedule 5A to, the National Health Service Act 1977(1) and of all other powers enabling him in that behalf, following compliance with the consultation requirements contained in regulations made under section 16A(5) of the Act(2), hereby makes the following Order:

Citation, commencement and interpretation

1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the East Kent Coastal Primary Care Trust (Establishment) Order 2002 and shall come into force on 1st April 2002.

(2) In this Order, unless the context otherwise requires—

"operational date" is to be construed in accordance with paragraph 1(2) of Schedule 5A to the Act;

"the trust" means the East Kent Coastal Primary Care Trust established by article 2 of this Order.

Establishment, operational date and name of the Primary Care Trust

2.—(1) There is hereby established with effect from 1st April 2002 a Primary Care Trust to be called the East Kent Coastal Primary Care Trust.

(2) The operational date of the trust shall be 1st April 2002.

^{(1) 1977} c. 49; section 16A was inserted by the Health Act 1999 (c. 8) ("the 1999 Act"), section 2(1); section 126(4) was amended by the National Health Service and Community Care Act 1990 (c. 19) ("the 1990 Act"), section 65(2) and by the 1999 Act, Schedule 4, paragraph 37(6); Schedule 5A was inserted by the 1999 Act, Schedule 1. The functions of the Secretary of State under these provisions are, so far as exercisable in relation to Wales, transferred to the National Assembly for Wales by article 2(a) of, and the entry for the National Health Service Act 1977 in Schedule 1 to, the National Assembly for Wales (Transfer of Functions) Order 1999, S.I. 1999/672, as amended by section 66(5) of the 1999 Act.

⁽²⁾ SeeS.I. 1999/2337.

Area of the trust

3. The trust shall be established for the area specified in the Schedule to this Order.

Signed by authority of the Secretary of State

Hazel Blears Parliamentary Under Secretary of State, Department of Health

25th March 2002

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

SCHEDULE

Article 3

AREA OF TRUST

In the district of Dover District Council

the electoral wards of Ash, Aylesham, Barton, Buckland, Capel-Le-Ferne, Castle, Cornilo, Eastry, Eythorne, Little Stour, Lower Walmer, Lydden and Temple Ewell, Maxton & Elms Vale, Middle Deal, Mill Hill, Mongeham, Noninstone, North Deal, Pineham, Priory, Ringwould, River, Sandwich, Shepherdswell with Coldred, St Margaret's at Cliffe, St Radigunds, Tower Hamlets, Town & Pier, Upper Walmer, Woodnesborough with Staple, Worth.

In the district of Thanet District Council

the electoral wards of Beacon Road, Birchington East, Birchington West, Bradstowe, Cecil, Central Eastcliff, Central Westcliff, Cliftonville, Dane Park, Ethelbert, Kingsgate, Margate West, Marine, Minster Parish, Newington, Northdown Park, Northwood, Pier, Pierremont, Salmestone, Sir Moses Montefiore, Southwood, St Lawrence, St Peter's, Thanet Parishes, Upton, Westgate-On-Sea.

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order establishes the East Kent Coastal Primary Care Trust ("the trust"), as provided for under section 16A of the National Health Service Act 1977. It specifies the trust's establishment and operational dates (article 2) and the area for which it is established (article 3 and the Schedule).