STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2003 No. 3334

EXTRADITION

The Extradition Act 2003 (Designation of Part 2 Territories) Order 2003

Made - - - - 18th December 2003

Coming into force - 1st January 2004

Whereas a draft of this Order has been approved by each House of Parliament;

Now, therefore, the Secretary of State, in exercise of the powers conferred on him by sections 69(1), 71(4), 73(5), 74(11)(b), 84(7) and 86(7) of the Extradition Act 2003(1), hereby makes the following Order:

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Extradition Act 2003 (Designation of Part 2 Territories) Order 2003 and shall come into force on 1st January 2004.
 - (2) In this Order "the Act" means the Extradition Act 2003.
- **2.**—(1) The territories set out in paragraph (2) are hereby designated for the purposes of Part 2 of the Act.
 - (2) Those territories are—

Albania,

Andorra,

Antigua and Barbuda,

Argentina,

Armenia,

Australia,

Austria,

Azerbaijan,

The Bahamas,

Bangladesh,

Barbados,

Bosnia and Herzegovina,
Botswana,
Brazil,
Brunei,
Bulgaria,
Canada,
Chile,
Colombia,
Cook Islands,
Croatia,
Cuba,
Cyprus,
Czech Republic,
Dominica,
Ecuador,
El Salvador,
Estonia,
Fiji,
France,
The Gambia,
Georgia,
Germany,
Ghana,
Greece,
Grenada,
Guatemala,
Guyana,
Hong Kong Special Administrative Region,
Haiti,
Hungary,
Iceland,
India,
Iraq,
Israel,
Italy,
Jamaica,
Kenya,
Kiribati,
າ

Belize, Bolivia, Latvia,

Lesotho,

Liberia,

Liechtenstein,

Lithuania,

Luxembourg,

Macedonia, FYR,

Malawi,

Malaysia,

Maldives,

Malta,

Mauritius,

Mexico,

Moldova,

Monaco,

Nauru,

The Netherlands,

New Zealand,

Nicaragua,

Nigeria,

Norway,

Panama,

Papua New Guinea,

Paraguay,

Peru,

Poland,

Romania,

Russian Federation,

Saint Christopher and Nevis,

Saint Lucia,

Saint Vincent and the Grenadines,

San Marino,

Serbia and Montenegro,

Seychelles,

Sierra Leone,

Singapore,

Slovakia,

Slovenia,

Solomon Islands,

South Africa,

	Sri Lanka,
	Swaziland,
	Switzerland,
	Tanzania,
	Thailand,
	Tonga,
	Trinidad and Tobago,
	Turkey,
	Tuvalu,
	Uganda,
	Ukraine,
	Uruguay,
	The United States of America,
	Vanuatu,
	Western Samoa,
	Zambia,
	Zimbabwe.
section	—(1) The territories set out in paragraph (2) are hereby designated for the purposes of on 71(4), 73(5), 84(7) and 86(7) of the Act.
(2	2) Those territories are—
	Albania,
	Andorra,
	Armenia,
	Australia,
	Austria,
	Azerbaijan,
	Bulgaria,
	Canada,
	Croatia,
	Cyprus,
	Czech Republic,
	Estonia,
	France,
	Georgia,
	Germany,
	Greece,
	Hungary,
	Iceland,
	Israel,

Italy, Latvia,

Liechtenstein,

Lithuania,

Luxembourg,

Macedonia, FYR,

Malta,

Moldova,

The Netherlands,

New Zealand,

Norway,

Poland,

Romania,

Russian Federation,

Serbia and Montenegro,

Slovakia,

Slovenia,

South Africa,

Switzerland,

Turkey,

Ukraine,

The United States of America.

- **4.**—(1) The territories set out in paragraph (2) are hereby designated for the purposes of section 74(11)(b) with the relevant longer period for each territory following in brackets.
 - (2) Those territories and relevant periods are—

Bolivia (65 days)

Bosnia and Herzegovina (65 days)

Chile (90 days)

Cuba (65 days)

Haiti (65 days)

Iraq (65 days)

Liberia (95 days)

Monaco (65 days)

Nicaragua (65 days)

Panama (65 days)

Paraguay (65 days)

Peru (95 days)

San Marino (65 days)

Thailand (65 days)

The United States of America (65 days).

Home Office 18th December 2003 Caroline Flint
Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

Part 2 of the Extradition Act 2003 ("the Act") applies to all territories with which the United Kingdom has extradition relations that are not designated as category 1 territories. Article 2 designates those territories which will be category 2 territories and for which the provisions of Part 2 of the Act will apply.

Article 3 designates some of those category 2 territories under sections 71(4), 73(5), 84(7) and 86(7) of the Act. These are the territories that are not required to provide prima facie evidence to support a request for extradition.

Finally, article 4 designates those territories that have a period longer than the normal 45 days for submitting documents to the United Kingdom. This is pursuant to the power found in section 74(11) (b) of the Act. Article 4 stipulates in each case the required period in relation to each individual territory.