EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order gives effect, with modifications, to recommendations by the Boundary Committee for England, a committee of the Electoral Commission, for electoral changes in the county of Buckinghamshire.

The modifications concern the names of Chiltern Ridges electoral division and Great Marlow parish ward of the parish of Great Marlow, the allocation of parish councillors in the parish of Great Marlow, and the boundary between Chess Valley, and The Chalfonts and Seer Green electoral divisions.

The changes have effect in relation to local government elections to be held on and after the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2005.

Article 3 abolishes the existing electoral divisions of the county and provides for the creation of 47 new electoral divisions. That article and the Schedule also make provision for the names and areas of, and numbers of councillors for, the new electoral divisions.

Articles 4 and 5 make electoral changes in the parishes of Farnham Royal and Great Marlow.

Article 7 obliges the Electoral Registration Officer for each district in the county of Buckinghamshire to make any necessary amendments to the electoral register to reflect the new electoral arrangements.

Article 8 revokes the County of Buckinghamshire (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1983, with the exception of article 5.

The areas of the new electoral divisions and of the new parish wards of the parishes of Farnham Royal and Great Marlow are demarcated on the map described in article 2. Prints of the map may be inspected at all reasonable times at the offices of Buckinghamshire County Council and at the principal office of the Electoral Commission at Trevelyan House, Great Peter Street, London SW1P 2HW.