STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2007 No. 276

PATENTS

The Patents (Convention Countries) Order 2007

Made - - - - 7th February 2007

Laid before Parliament 14th February 2007

Coming into force - - 6th April 2007

At the Court at Buckingham Palace the 7th day of February 2007 Present,

The Queen's Most Excellent Majesty in Council

Her Majesty by and with the advice of Her Privy Council, in exercise of the powers conferred upon Her by sections 90(1) and 124(3) of the Patents Act 1977(1), makes the following Order:

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Patents (Convention Countries) Order 2007 and shall come into force on 6th April 2007.
 - (2) The Patents (Convention Countries) Order 2006 is revoked (2).
- **2.**—(1) The countries specified in the Schedule are declared to be convention countries for the purposes of section 5 of the Patents Act 1977.

Christine Cook
Deputy Clerk of the Privy Council

^{(1) 1977} c.37.

⁽²⁾ SI 2006/315.

SCHEDULE

Article 2

CONVENTION COUNTRIES

Albania

Algeria

Andorra

Angola

Antigua and Barbuda

Argentina

Armenia

Australia

Austria

Azerbaijan

Bahamas

Bahrain

Bangladesh

Barbados

Belarus

Belgium

Belize

Benin

Bhutan

Bolivia

Bosnia and Herzegovina

Botswana

Brazil

Brunei Darussalam

Bulgaria

Burkina Faso

Burundi

Cambodia

Cameroon

Canada

Central African Republic

Chad

Chile

China

Columbia

Comoros

Congo

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

Costa	o, Democratic Republic of the Rica
	d'Ivoire
Croat	ia
Cuba	
Cyprı	ıs
	n Republic
Denn	_
Djibo	uti
Domi	
Domi	nican Republic
Ecua	
Egypt	
El Sa	vador
Equat	orial Guinea
Eston	ia
Faero	e Islands
Fiji	
Finla	nd
Franc	e (including Overseas Departments and Territories
Gabo	n
Gamb	ia
Georg	gia
Germ	any
Ghan	a
Greec	e
Grena	ada
Guate	emala
Guine	ea
Guine	ea-Bissau
Guya	na
Haiti	
Holy	See
Hond	uras
	Kong
Hung	
Icelar	ad .
India	
Indon	esia

Iran, Islamic Republic of

Document Generated: 2024-05-05

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

Iraq
Ireland
Israel
Italy
Jamaica
Japan
Jordan
Kazakhstan
Kenya
Korea, Democratic People's Republic of
Korea, Republic of
Kuwait
Kyrgyzstan
Lao People's Democratic Republic
Latvia
Lebanon
Lesotho
Liberia
Libyan Arab Jamahiriya
Liechtenstein
Lithuania
Luxembourg
Macao
Macedonia, Former Yugoslav Republic of
Madagascar
Malawi
Malaysia
Maldives
Mali
Malta
Mauritania
Mauritius
Mexico
Moldova, Republic of
Monaco
Mongolia
Montenegro
Morocco
Mozambique
Myanmar

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

Namib	ia
Nepal	
Nether	lands
Nether	lands Antilles and Aruba
New Z	ealand (including the Cook Islands, Niue and Tokelau
Nicara	gua
Niger	
Nigeria	ı
Norwa	y
Oman	
Pakista	n
Panam	a
Papua	New Guinea
Paragu	ay
Peru	
Philipp	ines
Poland	
Portug	al
Qatar	
Roman	ia
Russia	n Federation
Rwand	a
Saint K	Litts and Nevis
Saint L	ucia
Saint V	incent and the Grenadines
San Ma	arino
Sao To	me and Principe
Saudi 2	Arabia
Senega	.1
Serbia	
Seyche	illes
Sierra	Leone
Singap	ore
Slovak	ia
Sloven	ia
Solom	on Islands
South 2	Africa
Spain	
Sri Lar	ıka
Sudan	

Suriname
Swaziland
Sweden
Switzerland
Syrian Arab Republic
Taiwan
Tajikistan
Tanzania, United Republic of
Thailand
Togo
Tonga
Trinidad and Tobago
Tunisia
Turkey
Turkmenistan
Uganda
Ukraine
United Arab Emirates
United States of America (including Puerto Rico and all territories and possessions)
Uruguay
Uzbekistan
Venezuela
Viet Nam
Yemen
Zambia

EXPLANATORY NOTE

Zimbabwe

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order, pursuant to section 90(1) of the Patents Act 1977 (c.37), declares the countries specified in the Schedule to be convention countries for the purpose of section 5 of the Patents Act 1977. Section 5 of that Act affords certain rights of priority to applicants for patents, and this Order provides those rights of priority to applications filed in the countries specified in this Order. In this Order the term 'country' includes colonies, protectorates and territories by reason of section 90(3) of that Act.

The majority of the countries specified in the Order have acceded to the International Convention for the Protection of Industrial Property ("the Paris Convention") (as revised at Stockholm in 1967)

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

(Cmnd. 4431) or the Agreement establishing the World Trade Organisation (including the Agreement on Trade Related aspects of Intellectual Property Rights) (Cm 3044-6, 3080, 3263-4, 3268-9, 3271, 3275-7 and 3282).

This Order revokes the Patents (Convention Countries) Order 2006 (SI 2006/315) ("the 2006 Order"). This Order provides a consolidated list of countries that are convention countries for the purposes of section 5 of the Patents Act 1977 and the only substantive change from the 2006 Order is the addition of Yemen to the Schedule. Following Montenegro's Declaration of Independence from Serbia adopted by the National Assembly of Montenegro on 3rd June 2006, Serbia and Montenegro are dealt with separately in this Order.