#### STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

# 2011 No. 1542 (L. 14)

# DISTRESS, ENGLAND AND WALES

The Distress for Rent (Amendment) Rules 2011

*Made - - - - 20th June 2011* 

Coming into force in accordance with article 1

The Lord Chancellor makes the following Rules in exercise of the powers conferred by section 8 of the Law of Distress Amendment Act 1888(1).

## Citation and commencement

- 1. These Rules may be cited as the Distress for Rent (Amendment) Rules 2011 and shall come into force—
  - (a) on 18th July 2011 in respect of Ashford County Court, Bishop Auckland County Court, Cheltenham County Court, Consett County Court, Epsom County Court, Gravesend County Court, Guildford County Court, Harlow County Court, Haywards Heath County Court, Hitchin County Court, Huntingdon County Court, Leigh County Court, Lowestoft County Court, Nelson County Court, Newbury County Court, Penzance County Court, Poole County Court, Reigate County Court, Whitehaven County Court and West Cumbria County Court;
  - (b) on 1st August 2011 in respect of Aberdare County Court, Northwich County Court, Penrith County Court, Pontypool County Court, Runcorn County Court and Southport County Court;
  - (c) on 8th August 2011 in respect of Salford County Court.

#### **Amendments to Distress for Rent Rules 1988**

- 2. The Distress for Rent Rules 1988(2) are amended as follows.
- **3.** In Appendix 3 (table of issuing county courts) omit the entries listed in column 1 and the corresponding entries in column 2 relating to:
  - (a) Aberdare County Court;
  - (b) Ashford County Court;

<sup>(1) 1888</sup> c. 21

<sup>(2)</sup> S.I. 1988/2050 relevant amending instruments are S.I. 1999/2360, S.I. 1999/2564, S.I. 1999/3186, S.I. 2000/1481, S.I. 2000/2737, S.I. 2001/4026 and S.I. 2009/873.

- (c) Bishop Auckland County Court;
- (d) Cheltenham County Court;
- (e) Consett County Court;
- (f) Epsom County Court;
- (g) Gravesend County Court;
- (h) Harlow County Court;
- (i) Haywards Heath County Court;
- (j) Hitchin County Court;
- (k) Huntingdon County Court;
- (l) Leigh County Court;
- (m) Lowestoft County Court;
- (n) Nelson County Court;
- (o) Newbury County Court;
- (p) Northwich County Court;
- (q) Penrith County Court;
- (r) Penzance County Court;
- (s) Pontypool County Court;
- (t) Poole County Court;
- (u) Runcorn County Court;
- (v) Salford County Court;
- (w) Southport County Court;
- (x) Whitehaven County Court.
- **4.** In appendix 3, in the appropriate alphabetical position, insert "West Cumbria" in column 1 and "West Cumbria" in the corresponding entry in column 2.
  - 5. In appendix 3—
    - (a) in the entry specifying "Guildford" in column 1 and "Epsom" in column 2, for "Epsom" substitute "Guildford";
    - (b) in the entry specifying "Reigate" in column 1 and "Epsom" in column 2, for "Epsom" substitute "Guildford".

Signed by authority of the Lord Chancellor

J Djanogly
Parliamentary Under Secretary of State
Ministry of Justice

20th June 2011

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

## **EXPLANATORY NOTE**

(This note is not part of the Rules)

The Civil Courts Order 2011 (S.I. 2011/1465) closes a number of county courts on various dates in July and August 2011. These Rules remove references to those county courts from Appendix 3 of the Distress for Rent Rules 1988 as from those dates.

These Rules update Appendix 3 to the 1988 Rules to reflect other court closures.

They also provide that West Cumbria County Court and Guildford County Court are to be issuing county courts.