### STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

# 2011 No. 165

## The South Derbyshire (Electoral Changes) Order 2011

#### Citation and commencement

1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the South Derbyshire (Electoral Changes) Order 2011.

- (2) This Order comes into force—
  - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to the elections of councillors, on the day after that on which it is made;
  - (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2011.

#### Interpretation

**2.** In this Order—

"map" means the map marked "Map referred to in the South Derbyshire (Electoral Changes) Order 2011", of which prints are available for inspection at the principal office of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England;

"ordinary day of election of councillors" has the meaning given by section 37 of the Representation of the People Act 1983(1).

#### Wards of the district of South Derbyshire and number of councillors

**3.**—(1) The existing wards of the district of South Derbyshire are abolished.

(2) The district is divided into fifteen wards each bearing a name listed in column 1 of the Schedule.

(3) Each ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the ward.

(4) The number of councillors to be elected for each ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in column 2 of the Schedule.

(5) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it is to be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

#### Wards of the parish of Hartshorne and number of councillors

- 4.—(1) The parish of Hartshorne is divided into two wards named respectively—
  - (a) Hartshorne and Goseley;
  - (b) Midway.
- (2) Each ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the ward.
- (3) Nine councillors are to be elected for Hartshorne and Goseley ward.

 <sup>1983</sup> c.2. Section 37 has been amended by section 18(2) of the Representation of the People Act 1985 (c.50), section 17 of the Greater London Authority Act 1999 (c.29) and section 60 of the Local Government and Public Involvement in Health Act 2007 (c.28).

(4) Six councillors are to be elected for Lower Midway ward.

Sealed with the seal of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England on the 28th day of January 2011



Max Caller Chairman Local Government Boundary Commission for England

28th January 2011