STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2011 No. 165

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND

The South Derbyshire (Electoral Changes) Order 2011

Made---28th January 2011Coming into force in accordance with article 1(2)

Under section 58(4) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009(1) ("the 2009 Act") the Local Government Boundary Commission for England(2) published a report dated October 2010 stating its recommendations for changes to the electoral arrangements for the district of South Derbyshire.

A draft of the instrument has been laid before Parliament and a period of forty days has expired and neither House has resolved that the instrument be not made.

The Local Government Boundary Commission for England has decided to give effect to the recommendations for electoral changes and in exercise of the powers conferred by section 59(1) of the 2009 Act makes the following Order:

Citation and commencement

1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the South Derbyshire (Electoral Changes) Order 2011.

- (2) This Order comes into force—
 - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to the elections of councillors, on the day after that on which it is made;
 - (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2011.

Interpretation

2. In this Order—

"map" means the map marked "Map referred to in the South Derbyshire (Electoral Changes) Order 2011", of which prints are available for inspection at the principal office of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England;

^{(1) 2009} c.20.

⁽²⁾ The Local Government Boundary Commission for England was established on 1st April 2010 by section 55(1) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009 (c.20).

"ordinary day of election of councillors" has the meaning given by section 37 of the Representation of the People Act 1983(3).

Wards of the district of South Derbyshire and number of councillors

3.—(1) The existing wards of the district of South Derbyshire are abolished.

(2) The district is divided into fifteen wards each bearing a name listed in column 1 of the Schedule.

(3) Each ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the ward.

(4) The number of councillors to be elected for each ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in column 2 of the Schedule.

(5) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it is to be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

Wards of the parish of Hartshorne and number of councillors

4.—(1) The parish of Hartshorne is divided into two wards named respectively—

- (a) Hartshorne and Goseley;
- (b) Midway.
- (2) Each ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the ward.
- (3) Nine councillors are to be elected for Hartshorne and Goseley ward.
- (4) Six councillors are to be elected for Lower Midway ward.

Sealed with the seal of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England on the 28th day of January 2011



Max Caller Chairman Local Government Boundary Commission for England

28th January 2011

(3) 1983 c.2. Section 37 has been amended by section 18(2) of the Representation of the People Act 1985 (c.50), section 17 of the Greater London Authority Act 1999 (c.29) and section 60 of the Local Government and Public Involvement in Health Act 2007 (c.28). **Status:** This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

SCHEDULE

Article 3

Names of district wards and numbers of councillors

1	2
Name of District Ward	Number of Councillors
Aston	3
Church Gresley	3
Etwall	2
Hatton	1
Hilton	3
Linton	2
Melbourne	2
Midway	3
Newhall and Stanton	3
Repton	2
Seales	2
Stenson	2
Swadlincote	3
Willington and Findern	2
Woodville	3

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order makes changes to the electoral arrangements for the district of South Derbyshire following recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England. The area of the district remains unchanged.

The electoral changes apply in respect of local government elections to be held on and after the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2011.

Article 3 abolishes the existing wards of the district and replaces them with 15 new ones. That article, the map and the Schedule also establish the names and areas of the new wards and the number of councillors for each ward.

Article 4 establishes 2 wards for the parish of Hartshorne. That article and the map also establish the names and areas of the new wards and the number of councillors for each ward.

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

The map defined in article 2 shows the new district wards and parish wards. It is available at www.lgbce.org.uk/all-reviews/east-midlands/derbyshire/south-derbyshire-electoral-review and, at all reasonable times, at the offices of the council of the district of South Derbyshire and at the principal office of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England at Layden House, 76-86 Turnmill Street, London EC1M 5LG.