#### STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

## 2011 No. 167

# LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND

The Stoke-on-Trent (Electoral Changes) Order 2011

*Made - - - - 28th January 2011* 

Coming into force in accordance with article 1(2)

Under section 58(4) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009(1) ("the 2009 Act") the Local Government Boundary Commission for England(2) published a report dated October 2010 stating its recommendations for changes to the electoral arrangements for the district of Stoke-on-Trent(3).

A draft of the instrument has been laid before Parliament and a period of forty days has expired and neither House has resolved that the instrument be not made.

The Local Government Boundary Commission for England has decided to give effect to the recommendations for electoral changes and in exercise of the powers conferred by section 59(1) of the 2009 Act makes the following Order:

#### Citation and commencement

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Stoke-on-Trent (Electoral Changes) Order 2011.
- (2) This Order comes into force—
  - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to the elections of councillors, on the day after that on which it is made;
  - (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2011.

#### Interpretation

2. In this Order—

"map" means the map marked "Map referred to in the Stoke-on-Trent (Electoral Changes) Order 2011", of which prints are available for inspection at the principal office of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England;

<sup>(1) 2009</sup> c.20.

<sup>(2)</sup> The Local Government Boundary Commission for England was established on 1st April 2010 by section 55(1) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009 (c.20).

<sup>(3)</sup> The non-metropolitan district of Stoke-on-Trent has the status of a city.

"ordinary day of election of councillors" has the meaning given by section 37 of the Representation of the People Act 1983(4).

#### Wards of the district of Stoke-on-Trent and number of councillors

- **3.**—(1) The existing wards of the district of Stoke-on-Trent are abolished.
- (2) The district is divided into thirty-seven wards each bearing a name listed in column 1 of the Schedule.
  - (3) Each ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the ward.
- (4) The number of councillors to be elected for each ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in column 2 of the Schedule.
- (5) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it is to be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

Sealed with the seal of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England on the 28th day of January 2011



Max Caller
Chairman
Local Government Boundary Commission for
England

28th January 2011

<sup>(4) 1983</sup> c.2. Section 37 has been amended by section 18(2) of the Representation of the People Act 1985 (c.50), section 17 of the Greater London Authority Act 1999 (c.29) and section 60 of the Local Government and Public Involvement in Health Act 2007 (c.28).

## SCHEDULE Article 3

### Names of district wards and numbers of councillors

1	2
Name of District Ward	Number of Councillors
Abbey Hulton and Townsend	2
Baddeley, Milton and Norton	3
Bentilee and Ubberley	2
Birches Head and Central Forest Park	2
Blurton East	1
Blurton West and Newstead	1
Boothen and Oak Hill	1
Bradeley and Chell Heath	1
Broadway and Longton East	1
Burslem Central	1
Burslem Park	1
Dresden and Florence	1
Eaton Park	1
Etruria and Hanley	1
Fenton East	1
Fenton West and Mount Pleasant	1
Ford Green and Smallthorne	1
Goldenhill and Sandyford	1
Great Chell and Packmoor	2
Hanford and Trentham	2
Hanley Park and Shelton	1
Hartshill and Basford	1
Hollybush and Longton West	1
Joiner's Square	1
Lightwood North and Normacot	1
Little Chell and Stanfield	1
Meir Hay	1
Meir North	1
Meir Park	1
Meir South	1

1	2
Name of District Ward	Number of Councillors
Moorcroft	1
Penkhull and Stoke	1
Sandford Hill	1
Sneyd Green	1
Springfields and Trent Vale	1
Tunstall	1
Weston Coyney	1

#### **EXPLANATORY NOTE**

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order makes changes to the electoral arrangements for the district of Stoke-on-Trent following recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England. The area of the district remains unchanged.

The electoral changes apply in respect of local government elections to be held on and after the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2011.

Article 3 abolishes the existing wards of the district and replaces them with 37 new ones. That article, the map and the Schedule also establish the names and areas of the new wards and the number of councillors for each ward.

The map defined in article 2 shows the new district wards. It is available at www.lgbce.org.uk/all-reviews/west-midlands/staffordshire/stoke-on-trent-electoral-review and, at all reasonable times, at the offices of the council of the district of Stoke-on-Trent and at the principal office of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England at Layden House, 76 – 86 Turnmill Street, London EC1M 5LG.