EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order makes changes to electoral arrangements for the borough of Harrogate following recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England. The area of the borough remains unchanged. The changes which articles 2 and 3 introduce begin to apply to local government elections in 2018.

Article 2 abolishes the existing electoral wards comprising the borough of Harrogate and provides that the borough of Harrogate is divided into 40 wards, each of which is to be represented by one councillor; Schedule 1 specifies the names of those wards.

Article 3 and Schedule 2 make provision in respect of parish wards which is consequential to certain of the changes introduced by article 2.

The area covered by each ward created by this Order is identified on a map which is available for inspection at reasonable times at the offices of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England, 14th floor, Millbank Tower, London SW1P 4QP. The map may also be accessed at https://www.lgbce.org.uk/current-reviews/yorkshire-and-the-humber/north-yorkshire/harrogate.

An impact assessment has not been produced for this instrument as no impact on the private or voluntary sectors is foreseen.