STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

# 2019 No. 124

# LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND

The Dover (Electoral Changes) Order 2019

Made - - - 29th January 2019 Coming into force in accordance with article 1(2) and (3)

Under section 58(4) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009(1) ("the Act") the Local Government Boundary Commission for England(2) ("the Commission") published a report dated October 2018 stating its recommendations for changes to the electoral arrangements for the district of Dover. The Commission has decided to give effect to the recommendations.

A draft of the instrument has been laid before Parliament and a period of forty days has expired since the day on which it was laid and neither House has resolved that the instrument be not made.

The Commission makes the following Order in exercise of the power conferred by section 59(1) of the Act.

#### Citation and commencement

1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Dover (Electoral Changes) Order 2019.

- (2) This article and article 2 come into force on the day after the day on which this Order is made.
- (3) Articles 3 and 4 come into force—
  - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to the election of councillors, on the day after the day on which this Order is made;
  - (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors in England(3) in 2019.

<sup>(1) 2009</sup> c. 20.

<sup>(2)</sup> The Local Government Boundary Commission for England was established on 1st April 2010 by section 55(1) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009.

<sup>(3)</sup> The ordinary day of election of councillors in England is prescribed by section 37(1) of the Representation of the People Act 1983 (c. 2), as amended by section 18(2) of the Representation of the People Act 1985 (c. 50) and section 6(16) of the Wales Act 2017 (c. 4).

#### Interpretation

**2.**—(1) In this Order, "the map" means the map marked "Map referred to in the Dover (Electoral Changes) Order 2019", held by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England(4).

(2) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it is to be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

#### Wards of the district of Dover and number of councillors

**3.**—(1) The existing wards of the district of Dover are abolished.

(2) The district of Dover is divided into 17 wards as listed in the first column of the table in Schedule 1.

(3) Each ward comprises the area identified on the map by reference to the name of the ward.

(4) The number of councillors to be elected for each ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of the table in Schedule 1.

#### Wards of the parishes of Dover, Sholden, Walmer and Worth

4.—(1) The existing wards of the parishes of Dover, Sholden, Walmer and Worth are abolished.

(2) The parish of Dover is divided into the six parish wards listed in the first column of table 1 in Schedule 2.

(3) The parish of Sholden is divided into the three parish wards listed in the first column of table 2 in Schedule 2.

(4) The parish of Walmer is divided into the four parish wards listed in the first column of table 3 in Schedule 2.

(5) The parish of Worth is divided into the two parish wards listed in the first column of table 4 in Schedule 2.

(6) Each parish ward comprises the area identified on the map by reference to the name of the parish ward.

(7) The number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of the relevant table in Schedule 2.

<sup>(4)</sup> Prints of the map are available for inspection at reasonable times at the principal office of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England, 1st Floor, Windsor House, 50 Victoria Street, London, SW1H 0TL. It is also accessible online at http://www.lgbce.org.uk/all-reviews/south-east/kent/dover

**Status:** This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

Sealed with the seal of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England



Jolyon Jackson Chief Executive Local Government Boundary Commission for England

29th January 2019

**Status:** This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

#### SCHEDULE 1

Article 3

## Names of wards and number of councillors

Name of district ward	Number of councillors
lkham & Capel-le-Ferne	1
ylesham, Eythorne & Shepherdswell	3
luckland	2
Oover Downs & River	2
astry Rural	2
uston, Kingsdown & St Margaret's-at-Cliffe	2
ittle Stour & Ashstone	2
faxton & Elms Vale	1
fiddle Deal	2
fill Hill 2	2
lorth Deal	2
andwich 2	2
t Radigunds	2
ower Hamlets	1
own & Castle	2
Valmer 2	2
Vhitfield	2

#### SCHEDULE 2

Article 4

## Names of parish wards and number of councillors

#### Table 1

## Wards of the parish of Dover

(1)	(2)	
Name of parish ward	Number of councillors	
Buckland	4	
Maxton & Elms Vale	2	
Rokesley	1	
St Radigunds	4	

(1)	(2)
Name of parish ward	Number of councillors
Tower Hamlets	2
Town & Castle	5

#### Table 2

### Wards of the parish of Sholden

(1)	(2)	
Name of parish ward	Number of councillors	
Hyton	2	
Sholden	4	
Tenants Hill	1	

#### Table 3

#### Wards of the parish of Walmer

(1)	(2)
Name of parish ward	Number of councillors
Gladstone	2
St Saviour's	3
Upper Walmer	5
Wellington	5

## Table 4

## Wards of the parish of Worth

(1)	(2)
Name of parish wards	Number of councillors
Sandwich Bay	2
Village	5

#### **EXPLANATORY NOTE**

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order makes changes to electoral arrangements for the district of Dover following recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England. The area of the district remains unchanged. The changes made by this Order apply in respect of local government elections held on and after the ordinary day of election of councillors in England in 2019.

Article 3 abolishes the existing electoral wards of the district of Dover and replaces them with 17 new ones. It establishes the names and areas of the new electoral wards and the number of councillors for each.

Article 4 makes changes to parish wards which are consequential to the changes made by article 3.

The area covered by each ward created by this Order is identified on a map which is available for inspection at reasonable times at the offices of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England, 1st Floor, Windsor House, 50 Victoria Street, London, SW1H 0TL.

The map may also be accessed at http://www.lgbce.org.uk/all-reviews/south-east/kent/dover

An impact assessment has not been produced for this instrument as no impact on the private or voluntary sectors is foreseen.