STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2020 No. 1129

PUBLIC HEALTH, ENGLAND

The Health Protection (Coronavirus, International Travel) (England) (Amendment) (No. 19) Regulations 2020

Made	at 10.00 a.m. on 16th October 2020
Laid before Parliament	at 4.00 p.m. on 16th October 2020
Coming into force	at 4.00 a.m. on 18th October 2020

The Secretary of State makes the following Regulations in exercise of the powers conferred by sections 45B, 45F(2) and 45P(2) of the Public Health (Control of Disease) Act 1984(1).

Citation, commencement and interpretation

1.—(1) These Regulations may be cited as the Health Protection (Coronavirus, International Travel) (England) (Amendment) (No. 19) Regulations 2020 and come into force at 4.00 a.m. on 18th October 2020.

(2) In these Regulations, "the principal Regulations" means the Health Protection (Coronavirus, International Travel) (England) Regulations 2020(2).

Amendment of the principal Regulations

2. In the principal Regulations, in Part 1 of Schedule A1 (exempt countries and territories)—

- (a) for "islands of Crete and" substitute "island of";
- (b) omit the entries for "Italy", "San Marino" and "Vatican City State".

Transitional provision

3. In relation to any person who arrived in England on or after 10th July but before 4.00 a.m. on 18th October 2020, the principal Regulations apply as if the amendments made by regulation 2 had not been made.

^{(1) 1984} c. 22. Part 2A was inserted by section 129 of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 (c. 14).

⁽²⁾ S.I. 2020/568, amended by S.I. 2020/691, 724, 799, 805, 813, 819, 841, 866, 890, 913, 959, 980, 1013, 1039, 1070, 1076 and 1094.

Grant Shapps Secretary of State Department for Transport

At 10.00 a.m. on 16th October 2020

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Regulations)

These Regulations amend the Health Protection (Coronavirus, International Travel) (England) Regulations 2020 (S.I. 2020/568). They add the Greek island of Crete to, and remove Italy, San Marino and Vatican City State from, the list of exempt countries and territories in Schedule A1 from which passengers arriving in England are not required to self-isolate.

Passengers are not required to self-isolate on arrival in England if, during the 14 days preceding their arrival, they have only been in or transited through exempt countries or territories, or exempt parts of countries or territories. Passengers who have been in or transited through a non-exempt country or territory, or a non-exempt part of a country or territory, must self-isolate until 14 days have elapsed since the day after they last left a non-exempt country or territory, or a non-exempt part of a country or territory. The changes to Schedule A1 will not affect passengers who arrive in England before 4.00 a.m. on 18th October 2020.

An impact assessment has not been produced for this instrument. An explanatory memorandum has been published alongside this instrument at www.legislation.gov.uk.