EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Regulations)

These Regulations amend the Health Protection (Coronavirus, International Travel) (England) Regulations 2020 (S.I. 2020/568) ("the International Travel Regulations") to—

- (a) add Bonaire, Sint Eustatius & Saba, Israel, Jerusalem, Namibia, Northern Mariana Islands, Rwanda, Sri Lanka, Uruguay and The United States Virgin Islands to the list of exempt countries and territories at Schedule A1, from which passengers arriving in England are not required to self-isolate;
- (b) amend the list of exemptions in Schedule 2 which specifies persons who are exempt from the requirement to self-isolate;
- (c) amend the list of specified competitions in Schedule 3 which is relevant to the exemption from the requirement to self-isolate for elite sportspersons.

Passengers are not required to self-isolate on arrival in England if, during the 14 days preceding their arrival, they have only been in or transited through exempt countries or territories, or exempt parts of countries or territories. Passengers who have been in or transited through a non-exempt country or territory, or a non-exempt part of a country or territory, must self-isolate until 14 days have elapsed since the day after they last left a non-exempt country or territory, or a non-exempt part of a country or territory. The changes to Schedule A1 will not affect passengers who arrive in England before 4.00 a.m. on 21st November 2020.

An impact assessment has not been produced for this instrument. An explanatory memorandum has been published alongside this instrument at www.legislation.gov.uk.