#### STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

### 2024 No. 279

## The County Durham (Electoral Changes) Order 2024

#### Citation, commencement, extent and application

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the County Durham (Electoral Changes) Order 2024.
- (2) This article and article 2 come into force on the day after the day on which this Order is made.
- (3) Articles 3 and 4 come into force—
  - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to the election of councillors, on 15th October 2024;
  - (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors in England(1) in 2025.
- (4) This Order extends to England and Wales but applies in relation to England only.

#### Interpretation

- **2.**—(1) In this Order, "the map" means the map marked "Map referred to in the County Durham (Electoral Changes) Order 2024", held by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England(2).
- (2) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it is to be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

#### Divisions of County Durham and number of councillors

- **3.**—(1) The existing divisions of County Durham are abolished.
- (2) County Durham is divided into the 51 divisions listed in the first column of the table in Schedule 1.
- (3) Each division comprises the area identified on the map by reference to the name of the division.
- (4) The number of councillors to be elected for each division is the number specified in relation to that division in the second column of the table in Schedule 1.

# Parish wards of the parishes of City of Durham, Etherley, Peterlee, Spennymoor and Stanley and number of councillors

**4.**—(1) The existing parish wards of the parishes of City of Durham, Etherley, Peterlee, Spennymoor and Stanley are abolished.

<sup>(1)</sup> The ordinary day of election of councillors in England is prescribed by section 37(1) of the Representation of the People Act 1983 (c. 2), as amended by section 18(2) of the Representation of the People Act 1985 (c. 50), renumbered by paragraph 5 of Schedule 3 to the Greater London Authority Act 1999 (c. 29), and further amended by section 6(16) of the Wales Act 2017 (c. 4).

<sup>(2)</sup> Prints of the map are available for inspection at reasonable times at the principal office of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England, 1st Floor, Windsor House, 50 Victoria Street, London SW1H 0TL. It is also accessible online at https://www.lgbce.org.uk/all-reviews/county-durham.

- (2) The parish of City of Durham is divided into the three parish wards listed in the first column of Table 1 in Schedule 2.
- (3) The parish of Etherley is divided into the two parish wards listed in the first column of Table 2 in Schedule 2
- (4) The parish of Peterlee is divided into the five parish wards listed in the first column of Table 3 in Schedule 2.
- (5) The parish of Spennymoor is divided into the six parish wards listed in the first column of Table 4 in Schedule 2.
- (6) The parish of Stanley is divided into the seven parish wards listed in the first column of Table 5 in Schedule 2.
- (7) Each parish ward comprises the area identified on the map by reference to the name of the parish ward.
- (8) The number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward is the number specified in relation to that parish ward in the second column of the relevant table in Schedule 2.

Sealed with the seal of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England



Ailsa Irvine
Chief Executive
Local Government Boundary Commission for
England

4th March 2024