WELSH STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2002 No. 3276 (W.314)

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, WALES

The County Borough of Newport (Electoral Changes) Order 2002

Made - - - - 6th December 2002

Coming into force in accordance with article 1(2)

In pursuance of sections 58(1) and 64 of the Local Government Act 1972(1) the Local Government Boundary Commission for Wales submitted proposals in December 1999 for the future electoral arrangements for the County Borough of Newport. The National Assembly for Wales, having agreed with the proposals, makes the following Order in exercise of the powers conferred on it by sections 58(2) and 67(4) and (5) of the Act:

Name, commencement and interpretation

- 1.—(1) This Order is called the County Borough of Newport (Electoral Changes) Order 2002.
- (2) This Order will come into force:
 - (a) for the purposes of proceedings, preliminary or relating to any election to be held on the 6th May 2004, on the 9th October 2003, and
 - (b) for all other purposes, on 6th May 2004.
- (3) In this Order—

"the Act" ("y Ddeddf") means the Local Government Act 1972;

"electoral division" ("adran etholiadol") means an electoral division of the County Borough of Newport as constituted by the County Borough of Newport Electoral Arrangements Order 1994(2).

Electoral Divisions

- **2.**—(1) The existing electoral divisions of the County Borough of Newport specified in the Schedule to the County Borough of Newport Electoral Arrangements Order 1994 are abolished.
- (2) For the purposes of the elections of councillors for the County Borough of Newport, that County Borough shall be divided into 20 electoral divisions bearing the names specified in column

^{(1) 1972} c. 70

⁽²⁾ This Order was made on the 19th of December 1994 by the Secretary of State for the Home Department.

- (1) of the Schedule to this order, and each such electoral division shall comprise the area specified in column (2) of that Schedule.
- (3) The number of councillors to be returned for each such electoral division shall be the number specified in relation to the division in column (3) of the Schedule to this Order.

Register of Local Government Electors

3. The registration officer shall make such re-arrangements or adaptation of the register of local government electors as may be necessary due to the coming into force of this Order.

Signed on behalf of the National Assembly for Wales

E.Hart
Minister for Local Government, Finance and
Communities

6th December 2002

SCHEDULE Article 2

Names, areas and numbers of councillors for the electoral divisions of the County Borough of Newport

(1)	(2)	(3)
Name of Electoral Division	Area of Electoral Division	Number of Councillors
Allt-yr-yn	The Community of Allt-yr-yn	3
Alway	The Community of Alway	3
Beechwood	The Community of Beechwood	3
Bettws	The Community of Bettws	3
Caerleon	The Community of Caerleon	3
Gaer	The Community of Gaer	3
Graig	The Community of Graig	2
Langstone	The Communities of Langstone, Llanvaches and Penhow	2
Liswerry	The Communities of Liswerry and Nash	4
Llanwern	The Communities of Bishton, Goldcliff, Llanwern and Redwick	1
Malpas	The Community of Malpas	3
Marshfield	The Communities of Coedkernew, Marshfield, Michaelstone-y-Fedw and Wentlooge	2
Pillgwenlly	The Community of Pillgwenlly	2
Ringland	The Community of Ringland	3
Rogerstone	The Community of Rogerstone	3
Shaftesbury	The Community of Shaftesbury	2
St. Julians	The Community of St. Julians	3
Stow Hill	The Community of Stow Hill	2
Tredegar Park	The Community of Tredegar Park	1
Victoria	The Community of Victoria	2

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

The Local Government Boundary Commission for Wales was required by section 64(1) of the Local Government Act 1972 (as substituted by the Local Government (Wales) Act 1994) to review the electoral arrangements as soon as practicable after the first elections to unitary authorities in May 1995.

This Order gives effect to the proposals made in the Local Government Boundary Commission for Wales' report of December 1999 for the County Borough of Newport.

Although the Order abolishes all existing electoral divisions within the County Borough and replaces them with new electoral divisions, in practice the majority of them will remain the same.

The existing arrangements remain for the electoral divisions of Allt-yr-yn, Alway, Beechwood, Bettws, Caerleon, Gaer, Graig, Llanwern, Malpas, Pillgwenlly, Ringland, Rogerstone, Shaftesbury, St. Julians, Stow Hill, Tredegar Park, Victoria.

The division of **Langstone** which comprises of the communities of **Langstone**, **Llanvaches** and **Penhow** will be represented by two councillors.

The electoral division of **Liswerry** is to comprises of the communities of **Liswerry** and **Nash** and be is represented by four councillors. The electoral division of Llan-wern will not therefore include the community of Nash.

The Marshfield division, which comprises of the communities of Coedkernew, Marshfield, Michaelstone-y-Fedw and Wentlooge, is to be represented by two councillors.