WELSH STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2002 No. 3279 (W.317)

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, WALES

The County Borough of Torfaen (Electoral Changes) Order 2002

Made - - - - 6th December 2002

Coming into force in accordance with article 1(2)

In pursuance of sections 58(1) and 64 of the Local Government Act 1972(1) the Local Government Boundary Commission for Wales submitted proposals in December 1999 for the future electoral arrangements for the County Borough of Torfaen. The National Assembly for Wales having agreed with the proposals (with some modifications) makes the following Order in exercise of the powers conferred on it by sections 58(2) and 67(4) and (5) of the Act.

Name, commencement and interpretation

- 1.—(1) This Order is called the County Borough of Torfaen (Electoral Changes) Order 2002.
- (2) This Order will come into force:
 - (a) for the purposes of proceedings, preliminary or relating to any election to be held on 6th May 2004, on the 9th October 2003, and
 - (b) for all other purposes, on 6th May 2004.
- (3) In this Order —

"the Act" ("y Ddeddf") means the Local Government Act 1972;

"electoral division" ("adran etholiadol") means an electoral division of the County Borough of Torfaen as constituted by the County Borough of Torfaen Electoral Arrangements Order 1994(2);

Electoral Divisions

- **2.**—(1) The existing electoral divisions of the County Borough of Torfaen specified in the Schedule to the County Borough of Torfaen Electoral Arrangements Order 1994 are abolished.
- (2) For the purposes of the elections of councillors for the county borough of Torfaen, that county borough shall be divided into 24 electoral divisions bearing the names specified in column (1) of the

^{(1) 1972} c. 70.

⁽²⁾ This Order was made on the 19th December 1994 by the Secretary of State for the Home Department.

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

Schedule to this Order, and each such electoral division shall comprise the area specified in column (2) of that Schedule.

(3) The number of councillors to be returned for each such electoral division shall be the number specified in relation to the division in column (3) of the Schedule to this Order.

Register of Local Government Electors

3. The registration officer shall make such re-arrangements or adaptation of the register of local government electors as may be necessary due to the coming into force of this Order.

Signed on behalf of the National Assembly for Wales

E. Hart
Minister for Local Government, Finance and
Communities

6th December 2002

SCHEDULE Article 2

Names, areas and numbers of councillors for the electoral divisions of the county borough of Torfaen

(1) Name of Electoral Division	(2) Area of Electoral Division	(3) Number of Councillors
Abersychan	The Community of Abersychan	3
Blaenavon	The Community of Blaenavon	3
Brynwern	The Brynwern ward of the Community of Pontymoile	1
Coed Eva	The Coed Eva ward of the Community of Fairwater	1
Croesyceiliog North	The Croesyceiliog North ward of the Community of Croesyceiliog	2
Croesyceiliog South	Croesyceiliog South ward of the Community of Croesyceiliog	1
Cwmyniscoy	The Cwmyniscoy ward of the Community of Pontymoile	1
Fairwater	The Fairwater and Oaksford ward of the Community of Fairwater	2
Greenmeadow	The Greenmeadow ward of the Community of Fairwater	2
Llantarnam	The Community of Llantarnam and the Southville ward of the Community of Cwmbran Central	2
Llanyrafon North	The Llanyrafon North ward of the Community of Llanyrafon	1
Llanyrafon South	The Community of Ponthir and the Llanyrafon South ward of the Community of Llanyrafon	1
New Inn	The Community of New Inn	3
Panteg	The Community of Panteg	3
Pontnewydd	The Community of Pontnewydd and the Northville ward of the Community of Cwmbran Central	3
Pontnewynydd	The Pontnewynydd ward of the Community of Pen Tranch	1

(1)	(2)	(3)
Name of Electoral Division	Area of Electoral Division	Number of Councillors
Pontypool	The Pontypool ward of the Community of Pontymoile	1
Snatchwood	The Snatchwood ward of the Community of Pen Tranch	1
St. Cadocs and Penygarn	The St. Cadocs and Penygarn ward of the Community of Trevethin	1
St. Dials	The St. Dials ward of the Community of Cwmbran Central	
Trevethin	The Trevethin ward of the Community of Trevethin	2
Two Locks	The Two Locks ward of the Community of Cwmbran Central and the Community of Henllys	3
Upper Cwmbran	The Community of Upper Cwmbran	3
Wainfelin	The Wainfelin ward of the Community of Pen Tranch	1

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

The Local Government Boundary Commission for Wales was required by section 64(1) of the Local Government Act 1972 (as substituted by the Local Government (Wales) Act 1994) to review electoral arrangements as soon as possible after the first elections to unitary authorities in May 1995.

This Order gives effect (with some modifications) to the proposals made in the Local Government Boundary Commission for Wales' report of October 1999 for the County Borough of Torfaen.

Although the Order abolishes all existing electoral divisions within the County Borough and replaces them with new electoral divisions, in practice the majority will remain the same.

There is no change to the divisions of Abersychan, Blaenavon, Brynwern, Coed Eva, Croesyceiliog North, Croesyceiliog South, Cwmyniscoy, Fairwater, Greenmeadow, Llantarnam, Llanyrafon North, Llanyrafon South, Panteg, Pontnewydd, Pontnewynydd, Pontypool, Snatchwood, St. Cadocs and Penygarn, St. Dials, Trevethin, Two Locks, Upper Cwmbran, Wainfelin.

Document Generated: 2023-08-18

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

The existing divisions of New Inn Lower and New Inn Upper however shall be combined to form the electoral division of **New Inn**. It will consist of the Community of New Inn and be represented by three councillors.