WELSH STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2003 No. 3234

The Independent School Standards (Wales) Regulations 2003

Name, commencement and application

- **1.**—(1) These Regulations are called the Independent School Standards (Wales) Regulations 2003 and come into force on 1st January 2004.
 - (2) These Regulations apply in relation to Wales.

Interpretation

- 2. In these Regulations—
 - "the 1996 Act" ("Deddf 1996") means the Education Act 1996(1);
 - "the 2002 Act" ("Deddf 2002") means the Education Act 2002(2);
 - "the 1999 Regulations" ("Rheoliadau 1999") means the Education (School Premises) Regulations 1999(3);
 - "boarding accommodation" ("*llety byrddio*") means overnight accommodation arranged or provided by the school at the school or elsewhere, but excluding accommodation for pupils being accommodated away from the school premises during a school trip;
 - "fire authority" ("awdurdod tân") means the statutory body defined in section 4 of the Fire Services Act 1947(4);
 - "National Assembly" ("Cynulliad Cenedlaethol") means the National Assembly for Wales;
 - "proprietor" ("perchennog") has the same meaning as in section 579 of the 1996 Act;
 - "school" ("ysgol") means an independent school as defined by section 463 of the 1996 Act;
 - "staff" ("staff") means those people working at the school whether under a contract of employment, a contract for services, or as a volunteer; and
 - "statement" ("datganiad") means a statement of special educational needs made under section 324 of the 1996 Act.
- **3.** The requirements set out in the Schedule are the independent school standards for the purposes of Part 10 of the 2002 Act.

^{(1) 1996} c. 56.

^{(2) 2002} c. 32.

⁽³⁾ S.I.1999/2002.

^{(4) 1947} c. 41.

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

Signed on behalf of the National Assembly for Wales under section 66(1) of the Government of Wales Act 1998(5).

9th December 2003

D. Elis-Thomas
The Presiding Officer of the National Assembly