STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

1974 No. 515

AGRICULTURAL EMPLOYMENT

AGRICULTURAL WAGES

The Agricultural Wages Committees (Areas) Order 1974

Made - - - -Coming into Operation 20th March 1974 Ist April 1974

The Minister of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food, in exercise of the powers conferred on him by section 2 of the Agricultural Wages Act 1948, by Schedule 2 to that Act as amended by article 3 of the Agricultural Wages Committees (Transitional Provisions) Order 1974(1), and by section 18 of that Act as amended by article 3(12) of the London Government Order 1965(2), and of all his other enabling powers, hereby orders as follows:—

Citation, commencement and extent

1. This order, which may be cited as the Agricultural Wages Committees (Areas) Order 1974, shall come into operation on 1st April 1974 and shall apply to England and Wales.

Interpretation

2.—(1) In this order "county" means a county established by or under the Local Government Act 1972.

(2) The Interpretation Act 1889 applies to the interpretation of this order as it applies to the interpretation of an Act of Parliament.

Establishment of agricultural wages committees

3.—(1) Subject to the provisions of this order there shall be an agricultural wages committee for each county in England and Wales.

(2) For each of the counties specified in Part I of the Schedule to this order there shall in the first place be a separate committee, and for each of the combinations of counties specified in Part II of that Schedule there shall in the first place be a committee for the combination.

⁽**1**) (1974 I, p. 1957).

^{(2) (1965} I, p. 2038).

Greater London

4. For the purposes of the Agricultural Wages Act 1948 the London boroughs of Barking, Havering, Newham, Redbridge and Waltham Forest shall be deemed to be included in the county of Essex, the London boroughs of Barnet, Camden, Enfield, Hackney, Haringey, Islington, Tower Hamlets and Westminster, the City of London, the Inner Temple and the Middle Temple in the county of Hertfordshire, the London boroughs of Bexley, Bromley, Greenwich and Lewisham in the county of Kent, and the London boroughs of Brent, Croydon, Ealing, Hammersmith, Harrow, Hillingdon, Hounslow, Kensington and Chelsea, Kingston upon Thames, Lambeth, Merton, Richmond upon Thames, Southwark, Sutton and Wandsworth in the county of Surrey.

In Witness whereof the Official Seal of the Minister of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food is hereunto affixed on 20th March 1974.

L.S.

Frederick Peart Minister of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food

SCHEDULE

Article 3

PART I

COUNTIES FOR WHICH SEPARATE AGRICULTURAL WAGES COMMITTEES ARE ESTABLISHED

Counties in England

Cumbria

Devon

Humberside Kent

Lincolnshire

Norfolk

North Yorkshire

Northumberland

Salop

Suffolk

Counties in Wales

Clwyd Dyfed Gwent

Gwynedd

Powys

PART II

COMBINATIONS OF COUNTIES FOR WHICH AGRICULTURAL WAGES COMMITTEES ARE ESTABLISHED

Counties in England

Bedfordshire and Cambridgeshire

Berkshire, Buckinghamshire and Oxfordshire

Cheshire and Staffordshire

Cleveland, Durham and Tyne and Wear

Cornwall and Isles of Scilly

Derbyshire and Nottinghamshire

Dorset and Somerset

Essex and Hertfordshire

Gloucestershire, Avon and Wiltshire

Hampshire and Isle of Wight

Hereford and Worcester, Warwickshire and West Midlands

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format. The electronic version of this UK Statutory Instrument has been contributed by Westlaw and is taken from the printed publication. **Read more**

Lancashire, Greater Manchester and Merseyside Leicestershire and Northamptonshire South Yorkshire and West Yorkshire Surrey, East Sussex and West Sussex

Counties in Wales

Mid Glamorgan, South Glamorgan and West Glamorgan

EXPLANATORY NOTE

This Order establishes new agricultural wages committees on 1st April 1974 to conform to the counties set up by the Local Government Act 1972. In some cases committees are established for individual counties and in others for combinations of counties. Greater London is divided between the adjacent counties as before.

All old committees are dissolved by the Agricultural Wages Committees (Transitional Provisions) Order 1974, which also makes various consequential and transitional provisions, involving amendments to the Agricultural Wages Act 1948 and to subordinate legislation made under it.